Sunset Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Easy and filling. I made this with 2.5 lbs yellow tomatoes, 4 large carrots, 2t cumin, 1t coriander, 1t minced garlic, and "better than bullion" organic broth. I processed everything in my vitamix which is powerful enough that the tomatoes don't need seeded. This turned out creamy, tangy, and delicious. I can think of several ways you can vary the basic idea of yellow tomato and carrot soup and have it turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hapshepsut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Not mindblowing but pretty good. I pureed everything except the dill and it came out super smooth and silky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by markandlisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Absolutely easy and delicious. I used chicken stock and it was fine. I skipped the fresh dill. Next time I may add a green pepper and some basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup! I didn't bother peeling the tomatoes, and I also added about half of a green pepper when I sautéed the onions and carrots. I also added two cloves of minced garlic. I would probably omit the dill next time. It seemed unnecessary to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Even my family, who all think that I eat only "weird, mushy vegetarian food" devoured this soup and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I've made this recipe dozens of times. It was a family staple. The key to making this an excellent soup is the broth - chicken broth just yields an inferior product in this case. I buy Pacific organic vegetable broth. The soup ends up really flavorful. The dill is amazing in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was just ok. I was expecting more of a tomato flavor, but this tasted more like chicken broth with carrots. It was rather bland and I wanted a bolder flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My husband ate it, but I don't think he really cared for it, I don't think I will try this again. Since I didn't get a great response from him I didn't try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this once the way the recipe said to do it, I didn't love it. but I didn't hate it either. The 2nd time a made it I made it without the carrots. It was much smoother, and silkier. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States