Sunset Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I too do it a bit differently. I combine the salsa and creamed cheese and place in a shallow pan. I top it with 2 tablespoons of finely chopped chives then the cheddar cheese. I place in the oven for about 10 to 15 minutes at 300º F. until warmed through. My kids like it with bagel chips or spread on thin slices of Italian bread brushed with some EVOO and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waterford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Yummy! This is so easy to make, I put it together as a last minute snack and it came out really good, there wasn't much left after my family and guests got a hold of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I make this but layer it differently. I spread the cream cheese in the bottom, then put the salsa on top. Afterwards I cover it with the shredded cheese. Then I microwave it until the cheese is melted and serve with tortilla chips. It's so delicious and everyone always raves about this savory and salty dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Pretty good considering there are only 3 ingredients. I had a guest bring this to my house and prepare it on 2 occasions and it takes about 3 or 4 minutes of prep time. You could use any salsa, but a scoop chip works best. Many people enjoyed this dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I always get so many compliments on this dip. I mix ½cream cheese and ½mayo. I top it with the salsa and some chopped green onions. Then I decide if I want shrimp or crab on top. Sometimes I use both - shrimp on one side and crab on the other. Then I top with mozzarella cheese and serve. I don't heat it up at all. You can eat with crackers or tortilla chips. It is delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is actually a GREAT dip! I had this dip for the first time about 11 or 12 years ago at a friend's house and at first I thought "Cream Cheese and Salsa!!!" but when I tasted the combination with the salty crisp tortilla strips, I thought it was amazing! And very simple too, so that makes it even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Nelms-Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Try adding a layer of taco meat to it. Makes it fabulouse. Layer cream cheese, then taco meat, then salsa, then cheddar cheese. Bake untill cheese is melted. Serve warm and at room temp with Scoops. Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **JD**

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe is a great beginning recipe for this kind of dip. But I made some changes: I added a can of Hormel chilliw/beans, and some diced onions.I also love to add a dollop of sour cream on the top. It was really a hit with my three granddaughters. They expect this dip each time they come visit Granny, (me), along with a big bag of tortilla chips. Its yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyladee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My nursing teacher shared this reicpe with the class years ago. I had no idea what the name was, anyway this is a great dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great for sporting events and an easy dish for family get togethers! The only thing I changed, was layering it cream cheese, then the salsa, and melting the cheese on top. Great hit with my family and friends!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alangley10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Moist and Savory Stuffing

See how to make a simple, savory herb-seasoned stuffing.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States