Sunset Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is actually a really good dip - but I make it a bit differently. I don't "layer" it, the cream cheese might overwhelm the salsa. Instead I mix the cream cheese and salsa together. You can do this by microwave or on low heat, simmering, on the stove. I omit the cheddar cheese. Now, this can be served one of two ways. It's GREAT hot and creamy, or you can serve it cool - which means you're dealing with the cream-cheese's original consistency, only with salsa. I think either is great. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I make this but layer it differently. I spread the cream cheese in the bottom, then put the salsa on top. Afterwards I cover it with the shredded cheese. Then I microwave it until the cheese is melted and serve with tortilla chips. It's so delicious and everyone always raves about this savory and salty dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This dip is wonderful if you do a bottom layer of Cream Cheese, then a layer of refried beans, a layer of salsa and top with chedder chesse. Then put into microwave for approx 2 minutes and serve with chips...Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Like mentioned before these are ingredients I keep in the house...we serve it cold, with onions, peppers, and 1/2 with black olives, 1/2 without..so easy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I too do it a bit differently. I combine the salsa and creamed cheese and place in a shallow pan. I top it with 2 tablespoons of finely chopped chives then the cheddar cheese. I place in the oven for about 10 to 15 minutes at 300º F. until warmed through. My kids like it with bagel chips or spread on thin slices of Italian bread brushed with some EVOO and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waterford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I always get so many compliments on this dip. I mix ½cream cheese and ½mayo. I top it with the salsa and some chopped green onions. Then I decide if I want shrimp or crab on top. Sometimes I use both - shrimp on one side and crab on the other. Then I top with mozzarella cheese and serve. I don't heat it up at all. You can eat with crackers or tortilla chips. It is delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe is a great beginning recipe for this kind of dip. But I made some changes: I added a can of Hormel chilliw/beans, and some diced onions.I also love to add a dollop of sour cream on the top. It was really a hit with my three granddaughters. They expect this dip each time they come visit Granny, (me), along with a big bag of tortilla chips. Its yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyladee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I mix the cream cheese and salsa together. Then, a can of chili with beans. The cheddar cheese goes on top and is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was okay---when the cheese got cold it was hard to eat.It would be good if you kept it warm the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Hencye Frost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Pretty good considering there are only 3 ingredients. I had a guest bring this to my house and prepare it on 2 occasions and it takes about 3 or 4 minutes of prep time. You could use any salsa, but a scoop chip works best. Many people enjoyed this dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Moist and Savory Stuffing

See how to make a simple, savory herb-seasoned stuffing.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States