Sun's Korean Marinating Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
A new favorite! My husband fishes for albacore tuna and we always have a lot. I am always looking for recipes that counteract the "fishy" tsste, and this recipe did it! I substituted agave syrup for all of the sugar, and I was only able to marinate in the syrup alone for 10 minutes, and then in the marinade for 1 hr. We grilled it and it was amazing! I will be using this marinade on salmon and chicken as well - fantastic! I, too, cooked the remaining marinade and poured it over the cooked fish. It was a little too salty for me, so may not do that next time, or use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I used this marinade on Trader Joe's Mahi Mahi pieces. (A great fish bargain, btw.) It tasted authentic, and my husband thought I had used bottled marinade. I used low sodium soy sauce and still found it a bit salty, so I will reduce the amount next time. Large pieces of meat or fish may absorb less of the marinade, though. I served it with TJ Kimchee, white rice and steamed pea pods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I have used this sauce three times now. My husband and kids both LOVE this and request the "yummy" Ahi tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANALUKEMORGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Definite keeper! I went a little lighter on the sugar, but don't be afraid to use it as the end result is surprisingly mildly sweet. Almost a smoky flavor. I let the tuna marinade for about an hour and 20 minutes and used black sesame seeds for toasting. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
very good - surprisingly extremely mild in flavor. Nice if you have bold flavored veggies to go along side. Husband says I must make again, so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I made this for Valentine's and it was excellent. I used it with Ahi Tuna and broiled for 8-10 min on each side and it turned out perfect. We really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I cut the sugar back to about half a tbsp, and that was plenty sweet enough for us. This was absolutely the best tuna marinade I have ever tasted. Really outstanding. I cooked the tuna on the Foreman grill, and it was perfect. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
The flavor of this is fantastic! I cooked the remaining marinade to use as a sauce when the fish came off the grill. I was amazed that the amount of sugar used did not make the sauce overly sweet at all. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This was easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
this was the best tuna my wife and I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States