Sun's Korean Marinating Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
A new favorite! My husband fishes for albacore tuna and we always have a lot. I am always looking for recipes that counteract the "fishy" tsste, and this recipe did it! I substituted agave syrup for all of the sugar, and I was only able to marinate in the syrup alone for 10 minutes, and then in the marinade for 1 hr. We grilled it and it was amazing! I will be using this marinade on salmon and chicken as well - fantastic! I, too, cooked the remaining marinade and poured it over the cooked fish. It was a little too salty for me, so may not do that next time, or use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I used this marinade on Trader Joe's Mahi Mahi pieces. (A great fish bargain, btw.) It tasted authentic, and my husband thought I had used bottled marinade. I used low sodium soy sauce and still found it a bit salty, so I will reduce the amount next time. Large pieces of meat or fish may absorb less of the marinade, though. I served it with TJ Kimchee, white rice and steamed pea pods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I have used this sauce three times now. My husband and kids both LOVE this and request the "yummy" Ahi tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANALUKEMORGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Definite keeper! I went a little lighter on the sugar, but don't be afraid to use it as the end result is surprisingly mildly sweet. Almost a smoky flavor. I let the tuna marinade for about an hour and 20 minutes and used black sesame seeds for toasting. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
very good - surprisingly extremely mild in flavor. Nice if you have bold flavored veggies to go along side. Husband says I must make again, so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I made this for Valentine's and it was excellent. I used it with Ahi Tuna and broiled for 8-10 min on each side and it turned out perfect. We really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I cut the sugar back to about half a tbsp, and that was plenty sweet enough for us. This was absolutely the best tuna marinade I have ever tasted. Really outstanding. I cooked the tuna on the Foreman grill, and it was perfect. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
The flavor of this is fantastic! I cooked the remaining marinade to use as a sauce when the fish came off the grill. I was amazed that the amount of sugar used did not make the sauce overly sweet at all. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This was easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
this was the best tuna my wife and I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States