Sunny Pepper Parmesan Rice with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Made this for the first time tonight. Was attracted to it because I had most of the ingredients as leftovers that I wanted to use up. In my version, I used a mixture of leftover frozen spinach and wild rice & brown rice; two small "cooking" onions instead of sweet, and one orange and one red bell pepper. I added lite Italian dressing to a reduced amount of oil, along with some dry hot red pepper and granulated garlic instead of garlic salt. Turned out pretty bitter and barely edible - I blame the spinach (was way too long in the freezer) and too much of that dressing. DID like the ease of preparation and cooking, the parmesan cheese made it for me. Will have to "try try again" until I get it right. Perhaps adding black beans as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Nice, light side dish. I doubled the spinach like one reviewer suggested, and I skipped the salad dressing and cheese. Even without those ingredients, the taste was fresh and bright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I added a can of black beans and served this with Parmesan on the sider. Unfortunately, it was still disappointingly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe make a very attractive side dish with all the different colored peppers and spinach. Tasted good too! I made a few changes to this. I am not a fan of vinaigrette so i just drizzled a little olive oil over the top. I also reduced the amount of salt since hubby has to limit that. I really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
We used this as a main dish and were very suprised at how much flavor it had. Just a few changes. We used Basmati rice, increased the oinion and used fresh garlic. I will definetly be adding this to my "keeper" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Easy to make and a perfect side dish for anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Mmmmm, mm! Hubs and I have both decided we really, really like rice side dishes like this with lots of added vegetables. They’re pretty, they’re delicious, and they’re good for you. I particularly liked the addition of the fresh spinach in this one. I prepared this with regular, long grain rice (I don’t use instant) and eliminated the vinaigrette. I loved the Parmesan in mine, but in consideration of Parmesan Hating Hubs, I left it out of his portion so he wouldn’t whine. (He said it tasted good and it didn't stink) This, and some steamed broccoli, was just the right side dish alongside “Mushroom Melt Stuffed Chicken,” also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Yum! I used brown minute rice and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Loved it! Tasted like a healthy fried rice. I didn't have any orange or yellow bell peppers or any vinaigrette, but it tasted great without it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I needed a simple side dish to use up some fresh spinach and bell peppers and this was perfect. I used my regular long grain white rice and didn't add the vinaigrette dressing tasted fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Hot Spinach Dip

Cheesy, creamy spinach and artichoke baked appetizer dip.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States