Sunny Pepper Parmesan Rice with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Being a vegetarian, I'm always looking for new ideas and I really enjoyed this rice dish. The only changes I made were to use brown rice, frozen spinach and balsamic vinaigrette dressing. The next time I make it, I'm going to add a can of black beans and use it as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was really good. I used a blend of long-grain and brown rice and added mushrooms. I also used frozen spinach, which I thoroughly drained and sauteed for a few minutes on it's own (this step may be what the previous reviewer was missing - you sometimes have to cook frozen spinach a little more to get the "freezery" taste out of it). I served this on a platter and put the cheese down the middle of the dish (my kids can be picky about parm). All in in all, it was really good - I recommend using different rices for texture and flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is amazing. I used Minnesota wild rice (60 min. instead of instant), and mixed balsamic and white wine vinegar wit a little lemon juice for the dressing. For season salt I used Mrs. Dash. The flavors complement one another beautifully. We'll be having this regularly, and I'll double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklinville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I have to review this as they changed some of the ingredients on me. I use italian dressing, not vinagrette (although I am going to try greek too as that might be an interesting flavour as well with some feta cheese) and I use Mrs. Dash original as the seasoning salt. And yes fresh spinach is better, as it is less watery. I also like it with mushrooms, thanks for the idea! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I used Jasmine rice because that was what I had on hand. I followed the receipe to the letter. This dish was great. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Very colorful, excellent dish. I used whole grain white & wild rice not instant rice so cooking time was significantly increased. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Mmmmm, mm! Hubs and I have both decided we really, really like rice side dishes like this with lots of added vegetables. They’re pretty, they’re delicious, and they’re good for you. I particularly liked the addition of the fresh spinach in this one. I prepared this with regular, long grain rice (I don’t use instant) and eliminated the vinaigrette. I loved the Parmesan in mine, but in consideration of Parmesan Hating Hubs, I left it out of his portion so he wouldn’t whine. (He said it tasted good and it didn't stink) This, and some steamed broccoli, was just the right side dish alongside “Mushroom Melt Stuffed Chicken,” also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
very good. I would make it again. It makes wonderful leftovers, and the flavors enhance the second or third day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamanleyx

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I needed a simple side dish to use up some fresh spinach and bell peppers and this was perfect. I used my regular long grain white rice and didn't add the vinaigrette dressing tasted fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was a great meal and was devoured at my house! I added a can of black beans and substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil. Also, instead of adding vinaigrette, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne (to avoid the calories). Note: the fresh spinach added a lot of water as it cooked down so I drained it before adding the rice and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States