Sunny Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This salad seemed to lack something for me, but my husband liked it. I like water chestnuts, but thought they overpowered this salad. I think next time I will leave out the water chestnuts, add more peas, and perhaps some ham or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
this is my 9th time making this salad. the best salad ever and so easy to make. always a hit with friends and family. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
A big hit at the monthly family birthday dinner! Only change I made was to make more almonds and to leave out the water chestnuts. (I like water chestnuts, but wasn't sure the whole group would.) Turned out great and everyone enjoyed it! Looked really pretty too in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellyjoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
vERY EASY, DO AHEAD OF TIME. I SCALED IT DOWN FOR 4. THEY LOVED IT & HAD TOSEND IT TOO THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Wow this salad is so good. I'm was in Home economics/ foods class in my school and i chose to make this salad for one of the units they were teaching and it was a hit. Everyone liked it. However i didn't really like the dressing. So i made my own vinegrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I love this salad! So easy to make and a crowd pleaser. Prefect for Potlucks or whenever you need to bring a little something to a get together. Great for vegetarians too. I make few modifications- I use Colby/Jack cheese, just cuz I like a little more flavor. For the dressing, I add a little seseame oil and reduce the sugar just a bit. I also like to saute the almonds with a little honey & seseame seeds instead of sugar. It makes almost like a candied brittle. Yum! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillie64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
A perfect starter for a party. Great dressing. Everyone complimented on the dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I took this to Christmas Eve and it was a hit. Because it was Christmas I used dried cranberries instead of the mandarin oranges so that the whole thing was layered in red, white, and green. The dressing was great! I'll make this using a variety of different colored layers for various occassions. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States