Sunflower Seed Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Bland. The flavor is entirely unmemorable. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My adult daughter's a vegan, so I'm trying to get with the program, but this recipe epitomizes why I have often had issues with vegetarian/vegan cuisine. I disagree with the reviewer who said it had too much bite. It's very bland and paste-like. I'm really going to think about how I might tweak it if I were to make it again. Certainly more celery and onion, as well as other fresh veggies to give it the texture and flavor good vegan/vegetarian food can have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Hubby did not care for this recipe. Awkward combination of flavors and textures between hummus and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I like this! I had almost forgotten to add the lemon juice, then saw it sitting on the counter as I was sticking the spread in the refrigerator, so quickly added it. That is what really makes the spread work! I loved the chopped celery and onions with the smoother other ingredients. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
With a good bit of tweaking this came closer to 5 stars, but the combination of raw onion and that much lemon created such a bite that I had to spend a lot of time adjusting the flavors. I ended up adding olive oil and plain yogurt to get it more the consistency of hummus, and it was great. Loved the nuttiness of the sunflower seeds, so it was a great change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I came here to get some simple and practical recipes. This one is a big hit! I'll use it as a veggie dip, and on sandwiches for my hubby. I halved the recipe and forgot the water, but did put a splash of olive oil. I'll play with it next time. I might add some extra lemon, and maybe some cilantro. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I love sunflower seeds so I decided to make this. The outcome was ok, but a few things. I felt that the recipe was not clear on some things. For instance, do you use unsalted or salted sunflower seeds? If you do use salted, as I did, it will become too salty. I wish I had tasted the paste and added the soy sauce ONLY if necessary. On the celery stalk, do you use the celery including the leaves? I omitted the leaves out until the end to see if I would need to add it in. It did need the whole celery WITH the leaves, maybe even a bit more. I felt the paste needed more lemon juice than called for, maybe even a full cup. This may be due to the recipe being too salty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This dip was awesome. It tasted like a nutty version of hummus. I saved time by buying unsalted, pre-roasted sunflower seeds from the bulk food store. The first time I made it as is, and I thought the raw onion was too strong. Next time, I left out the onion, and substituted the water for olive oil for more flavour. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I love it! On toast this is so good. I didn't have any celery so I added some leek instead and extra garlic. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This was great. I found it needed a touch more lemon juice and a small clove of garlic extra. I have also added a little black pepper from time to time. BUt it is great, i use it where I work to make snacks for the employees..thanks Sue, great job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States