Sunday's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This was my 1st ever attempt at making apple pie. It was VERY easy to make and my family LOVED it!! I added a sprinkle of nutmeg to the spice mixture otherwise followed recipe exactly. My hubby and father can't wait for me to make it again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was really good pie! We loved it. I used an assortment of apples: 2 Fujis 2 Granny Smith 2 Golden Delecious I think that's one of the secrests to a really good apple pie, combining really good apples together. I also ended up adding more cinnamon than called for, about 1 tsp as well as 1/2 tsp of nutmeg as I really like a spicy apple pie. I slpashed about 1 tblp of real mexican vanilla over the top of the apples, before I put the top crust on. To top it off, I brushed 2-3 tblsp mented butter on the top crust, and sprinkled it with a few tblsp granulated sugar. This made for a beautifuly golden, and crispy top crust. I served it warm with fresh whipped cream. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This reminds me of my mom's apple pie...simply delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is a great, easy applie pie. I usually use an assortment of apples (Fujis, Granny Smith, Pink Ladies, etc.) which gives a nice variety of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was easy and fantastic! If you love cinnamon, you'll love this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Wonderful pie! I used Fuji apples and everyone loved it. The recipe is so simple and tasty that this is the ONLY apple pie recipe I will use now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I had never made an apple pie before and was worried about it turning out runny, but this one was perfect! I baked it for 15 minutes at 425 to set the crust and then for 50 minutes at 350. Got rave reviews at Thanksgiving and only one piece was left! Used Granny Smith apples and brushed the top crust with milk and sprinkled with sugar. Very tasty, beautiful pie! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Great apple pie. Wouldn't change the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letitsnow!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Yummy.. this was great. I omitted the butter and instead added 10 caramels, cut in half. I put half the apples in the crust, then half the caramels, then the remaining apples and caramels. Brushed the crust with cream and sprinkled with sugar before baking. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States