Sunday's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Absolutely fantastic!!!! If you double the recipe it can make 3 pies that are winners! I did add nutmeg to flour/sugar mixture and also put 1/4 tsp of vanilla on top of the apples once they were in the pie shell. Will be using again and again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylieL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
As other reviewers I added some nutmeg, and used only 3 apples (fuji, granny smith and golden delicious). It was my first time making a pie and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is a very good pie. I substituted 3/4 cup honey for the sugar, added more flour, and put in some vanilla extract and mapline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was simple and delicious!! After making, there were only 2 pieces left. Enough for a late night snack! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I just made this pie, and it was awesome. I added 2 strips of bacon and some maple syrup for some reason, so I guess I kind of made my own version. I also added the bacon grease, took out a tablespoon of butter, used only 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and added some salt. I kind of made it up as I went, but it was probably the craziest pie I've ever had. This was also the first pie I've ever made, so it was pretty satisfying too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrillaskronk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Added some fresh lemon juice, and also used 3 different types of apples, added a little dark brown sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpar1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Let me tell you something: I made this pie for my boyfriend's family, and his father said that it was better than his mother's (my boyfriend's grandmother's) pie. That's all that needs to be said for how great this pie is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made my own pie crust from scratch (which is why i downgraded the recipe from 5 stars) and otherwise followed the recipe- the filling came out perfect :) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
gotta tell ya, my husband and oldest son thought this was fantastic. I am not a fruit pie kinda girl, but they thoroughly enjoyed it at Thanksgiving. Was the first dessert completely consumed asap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this pie but tweaked it slightly for my taste by adding 1 Cup of Brown Sugar and 1/2 Teaspoon of Nutmeg. The recipe was simple and the results were awesome, Opt for Ala Mode as you will have plenty of juice to spoon over the ice cream. This one is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States