Sunday's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a good traditional recipe. For a little extra, I coated the apples with 1 Tbs lemon juice before adding the dry ingredients, and also added 2 Tbs brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. Next time I make this I want to add some cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I rated this a tad lower than most of the other reviews because I feel it necessary to alter the recipe to include 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 tsp nutmeg. The pie was not sweet enough without the brown sugar, and nutmeg was necessary to compliment the cinnamon. I used this recipe in a 9 inch glass pie dish and baked it at 350 for 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belleamoura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waveland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
If you want a basic simple apple pie, this is it! I had a crust at home already and needed a good quick filling...this one did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very good. It wasn't to sweet just the way I like it! It would have been better but I made the crust which was a nice crust but, well, I am a terrible pie crust maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My husband and I LOVED this pie! This was my first attempt at pie making... I am trying to branch out and start cooking more. I used a 9 inch refrigerated pie pastry and was able to make use of all the apples. The seasonings were just right, not too sweet and not too tart. I added a little nutmeg just for the heck of it. It really turned out great! My husband ate it warm with vanilla ice cream, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Only changes I made was to add a touch more cinnamin and then brushed the pastry with milk and sprinkled sugar on top. Hello Fall weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a wonderful simple recipe and using another reviewer's suggestion, I used a combination of apples, granny smiths, golden delicious and braeburns. Also used Barefood Contess'a perfect pie crust and the end result was a perfect apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe! I like things to be sweet so I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and I also added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I liked the idea of other posters to brush the top with milk and sprinkle with sugar so I did that too. I'm sure it would have been great without these tweaks, but I altered it a bit to suit my personal tastes. I will never use another apple pie recipe again. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made this pie today and it was my first time ever making a pie. It came out great! I used 6 med/large Empire apples and substituted cornstarch for flour (since I didn't have any flour). I also did a couple of other things a bit differently. I remember my grandmother showing me how to make apple pie when I was a kid so I used a couple of her techniques. One was that instead of adding the butter pieces to the mixture in the bowl, I mixed everything else, put a layer of the mixture in the crust, added some butter pieces, put another layer, added butter, etc. for 3 layers. I also brushed the top crust with milk before baking. It was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States