Sunday Sticky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipie--the chicken was mosit and very tender. I did add additional seasonings to spice the gravy up a bit--mostly more pepper and a little sage. It's a great dish for those that miss the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I worried the gravy would be bland so I spiced it up. I also spiced up the shake and bake mix. I added liberal amounts of Mrs.Dash, Salt, Pepper, and Garlic Powder, also I needed more flour (1/2c). I doubled the gravy with little changes. I made it with 2c water, flour, 4 TBS corn starch, and the fried drippings from step one. This did the trick. The chicken was very moist! Very easy to make. Thanks for the good recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
Gravy was very bland...had to add a packet of dry chicken gravy mix to give it some flavor...however, chicken was very moist..probably will not make this again..sorry Joe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Not bad. Many viewer's said it was bland so I added Old Bay cajun seasoning and salt to give it some flavor. After browning the chicken pieces in oil I dipped them in the coating mix again to make them more sticky and a bit thicker texture cause I remove the skin from the chicken pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENNMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
This was YUMMY! Even my 12 year old liked it. We're not gravy eaters but even the gravy was absolutely delicious! Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is hard to rate - overall we were pleased with the final product but that is based on making some changes. I used "Chicken Seasoning" from Heather's Fried Chicken on this site, in the flour to coat the chicken and then more in the gravy. (chicken seasoning mix: Stir together 2 tablespoons black pepper, 2 tablespoons garlic powder, 1 tablespoon paprika, and 1 tablespoons kosher salt.) I heated homemade chicken stock in the dutch oven - added the milk and simmered it before adding the seared chicken. For the chicken I just halved the chicken and cooked one half, it was not submerged in the gravy, just simmered in it. The gravy did need some more seasoning. I am glad I made this - it has been waiting for a picture for a long time. Not sure if I would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I am not sure what was supposed to be sticky about this chicken, but it did not go over well with my family. The gravy was VERY thin...the cornstarch mixture did nothing to thicken it. I think if I make this again I will use less water and broth in order to have a thick gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This recipe was very bland, but the chicken was very tender and was SO easy to make that I had to give it 4 stars. It's a good recipe, but I would serve it with a side dish that has a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Sooo good! We usually make two, side-by-side in a turkey roasting pan... You can get two chicks at Costco for decent price! Soo much better than store bought rotisserie chicken! We will have one for dinner, and the other, I remove the meat from it and use it for enchiladas or another chicken dish later in the week.... (if the second chicken lasts that long!! :+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
like Grandma's house on Sunday evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States