Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was an excellent pancake, but the lemon poppy seed flavor was very mild. I did use 2 T of lemon juice and 1 teaspoon of zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is wonderful~~I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
OMG...in one word: AWESOME!! Served with fresh strawberry compote...had to refrain from licking my plate when I was done :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made these as another reviewer suggested and left out the vinegar and used 2 TBS of lemon juice rather than one. I also had to omit the poppy seeds as I didn't have any on hand. I put butter on them and dusted with powdered sugar just like the photo and topped with fresh strawberries. Would love to try with a flavored syrup such as blueberry or with some lemon curd and whipped cream. My picky 3 yr old ate 5 pancakes himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Yum! Very easy, and delicious--from someone who isn't the biggest fan of pancakes. However, they are adjustable (didn't have lemon zest so I just used more lemon juice) and don't make too many (doubled the recipe and got about 7 pancakes). And they didn't really need syrup or sugar in my opinion--I ate with fruit and they were great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 100Truffles
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Ahhhhmazing! This was such a fun recipe to make, and they turned out so well! Fluffy and perfectly balanced flavors. I was going to make a blueberry topping but then realized we didn't have as many blueberries on hand as I thought, so I made a lemon/cream cheese topping instead. Mmm, the family raved. Thanks for an Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 100Truffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These are AMAZING!!!!!! And so easy too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! Followed recipe exactly. Believe me... I have tried about every pancake recipe out there. Weekend breakfasts at our house is always a big "family" deal. This recipe has earned a spot in our weekly weekend menu!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. My husband has been tweaking the recipe, trying to match the results to lemon yogurt pancakes at a wonderful restaurant near our home. Today, I think he got it just right! He cut the milk (nonfat) down to 1/4 cup, and he used 3 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice, omitting the vinegar, to curdle the milk. He added 1/2 cup nonfat yogurt to the milk mixture after the curdling time passed. He followed the recipe thereafter, except he omitted the poppy seeds. He topped the pancakes with a sprinkling of confectioner's sugar and a bit of fresh squeezed lemon juice. The pancakes were delicious, light texture and and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
We love these! I may never make standard pancakes again. I use all lemon juice to sour my milk. When I don't have a fresh lemon on hand I skip the zest, and that works too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States