Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The kids loved these! I used whole wheat flour instead of regular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Delicious fluffy pancakes! The lemon isn't overpowering and the poppy seeds make the batter look adorable. A perfect pairing with blueberry maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These were good! I only have two minor nitpicks: one is that they don't taste all that lemony, and that was after I doubled the amount of lemon. Secondly, the mixture as the recipe calls for was really runny- the pancakes did not hold their form at all until I added some more flour. To be fair, I did use a gluten free flour mix with this, but I have never had a problem with it before. Other than those two things, these pancakes were great, made the batter the night before and then threw them on the griddle for a quick breakfast. The poppy seed flavor was perfect, maybe next time I'll spread them with lemon curd or something to really bring out the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
My family loves these! I double the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I used all of the juice and zest from one large lemon as other reviews suggested more lemon flavor needed. I also did a half and half mixture with whole wheat and white flour to add to the nutritional value. The best change I did was making these with my waffle iron! Delicious :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I had both my daughters home for breakfast one day this week, which doesn't happen very often these days. So I decided to treat them with these. I couldn't have chosen a better recipe. I didn't change a thing and won't in the future either. Thanks for a lovely breakfast TTV78.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I enjoyed these, but I did make some changes. I'm on South Beach so I used whole wheat flour, smart balance, and Splenda. The first time I made them I found that they didn't have enough lemon flavor for me, so I started adding a teaspoon of lemon extract. PERFECT!!! Also, this time around I didn't realize I was out of eggs until I was in the middle of making the recipe, so I substituted a little bit of no-sugar-added applesauce (I just put in what I thought looked like the equivalent to 1 egg, LOL) and it was fine like that. I will say that I have left out the vinegar everytime, too...almost forgot that. I like the recipe and have made it 3 times so far. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty1534

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These pancakes were amazing!!! Nice and thick due to the "buttermilk action" created by the curdled milk. We didn't have any fresh lemons, so we substituted lime zest instead. We also use 3x the amount of poppy seeds. The result was perfect! We used a melted honey-butter mix instead of maple syrup so as not to overpower the lemon flavor - mmm! Definitely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda van Erp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
my husband, who does not normally care for pancakes, loved these. I used all lemon juice, no vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are pretty good. Definitely something different. My batter turned out a little runny and made flat pancakes at first, so I added a little flour and they were just fine. A healthy alternative to lemon poppy seed bread. Tastes great served with blueberry syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States