Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
My family loves these! I double the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I used all of the juice and zest from one large lemon as other reviews suggested more lemon flavor needed. I also did a half and half mixture with whole wheat and white flour to add to the nutritional value. The best change I did was making these with my waffle iron! Delicious :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I had both my daughters home for breakfast one day this week, which doesn't happen very often these days. So I decided to treat them with these. I couldn't have chosen a better recipe. I didn't change a thing and won't in the future either. Thanks for a lovely breakfast TTV78.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I enjoyed these, but I did make some changes. I'm on South Beach so I used whole wheat flour, smart balance, and Splenda. The first time I made them I found that they didn't have enough lemon flavor for me, so I started adding a teaspoon of lemon extract. PERFECT!!! Also, this time around I didn't realize I was out of eggs until I was in the middle of making the recipe, so I substituted a little bit of no-sugar-added applesauce (I just put in what I thought looked like the equivalent to 1 egg, LOL) and it was fine like that. I will say that I have left out the vinegar everytime, too...almost forgot that. I like the recipe and have made it 3 times so far. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty1534

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These pancakes were amazing!!! Nice and thick due to the "buttermilk action" created by the curdled milk. We didn't have any fresh lemons, so we substituted lime zest instead. We also use 3x the amount of poppy seeds. The result was perfect! We used a melted honey-butter mix instead of maple syrup so as not to overpower the lemon flavor - mmm! Definitely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda van Erp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
my husband, who does not normally care for pancakes, loved these. I used all lemon juice, no vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are pretty good. Definitely something different. My batter turned out a little runny and made flat pancakes at first, so I added a little flour and they were just fine. A healthy alternative to lemon poppy seed bread. Tastes great served with blueberry syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
My husband really liked these. I followed the recipe fairly closely but used 3 tbsp sugar instead of 2. A nice change of pace from Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I found this mix to be too thick to pour and needed to add additional milk. Otherwise I didn't change a thing. However, using lemon curd as a topping instead of syrup was the trick to adding additional lemon flavor. Yum! I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Good flavor. Would make again, but not the "perfect" pancake consistency for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States