Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made the recipe as is (with the exception of 1/4 of the flour being wheat flour) and the kids loved them. They were the lightest, fluffiest pancake I have made from scratch. Next time, I plan to use all lemon juice instead of vinegar to sour the milk and I may reduce the poppy seed (just because I don't care for that flavor as much as the lemon). We ate it with blueberries and cool whip instead of syrup and it was a great combination of flavor. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
the taste was amazing, but its not really sour enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Nice lemon flavor. I used whole wheat pastry flour. The batter was really thick, so I had to add a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Not lemony enough for my liking. Sprinkle with lemon juice just before serving, and use all lemon juice instead of vinegar. Next time I'll double up on the poppy seeds. These were a great change from the normal routine. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
A great recipe. I didn't have poppy seeds, so I added 3 tbsps of shredded coconut instead of it. I added 2 tsps of lime zest and 3 tbsps of lime juice instead of vinegar. I substituted whole wheat flour for ap flour and vegetable oil for butter. It was so tasty! Great with condensed milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I took a shortcut with this recipe and it still turned out great. I used 1 cup ready made pancake mix and followed the directions on the back of the box (something like add one egg, milk, and some oil). Then for the lemon poppyseed part I added the zest of one entire lemon, the juice of half a lemon, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, and one teaspoon poppyseeds. Quicker and easier than making from scratch and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Followed the recipe as written, although used fresh squeezed lemon juice and I doubled the lemon zest. I will make it again but I will double the lemon juice as the family did not really taste the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These were pretty good, very lemony. I followed the recipe exactly for a triple batch, served with bacon. We tried it with store bought blueberry syrup and regular pancake syrup and I was surprised to find we preferred the regular syrup with these. My children (3 and 8) enjoyed them just fine but my husband was NOT impressed. He likes my lemon bars but did not appriciate me "messing" with his pancakes. I am freezing the leftovers for quick breakfasts on days he is away on business trips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great recipe! The pancakes were delicious. If I were to make the recipe again, I would probably omit the sugar from the batter...as someone who likes to eat pancakes with maple syrup, it was unnecessary. Additionally, I think the recipe needs more lemon zest. I used the zest of one whole lemon and the taste didn't come through as much as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this receipt ... 1 word: DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaos
Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States