Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Recipe excellent as-is. Very light and fluffy - almost delicate. Not sweet, and you can't taste the lemon AT ALL, in case you were wondering, but really delicious. I used 1.5 Tbsp olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I enjoyed these, but even after I upped the amount of lemon in them, I could just barely taste the lemon. I will be trying them again, but with MUCH more lemon than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I love Lemon Poopy Seed muffins and thought I would love these. Unfortunatley, I was completely unimpressed by these pancakes! Followed the recipe exactly. Will NOT make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chiflada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Light and fluffy, but not very lemony tasting. I didn't have any lemon zest so I don't know how much that mattered. And I used lemon juice out of the little plastic lemon container you get at the store. I know fresh lemons would be much better which I will try and use next time (and there will be a next time). If not, I will just put more lemon juice from the container in it. Trial and error. Worth trying though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These pancakes are very good! I didn't have any fresh lemon, so I had to use lemon extract instead of the lemon zest. The next time I will have the fresh lemon and I know it will be even better, if that's possible! As with any pancake recipe, I separated the eggs and beat the whites into stiff peaks and then folded them into the batter right before pouring them onto the hot griddle. This allows for the "fluffiest" pancakes. I also sift the flour. Really good recipe...a nice change to the typical pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Everybody loved these! We had a Bolivian friend over and she was amazed!!! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is my favorite Saturday morning meal to make! I like to put my favorite breakfast cheese, Gjetost, on top of the pancakes to make them twice as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
lovely pancakes, light and fluffy with a lemon flavor that isn't overwhelming. Made it exactly as written and enjoyed every bite. If you're making it for a family of 4 I recommend doubling it, the original yield won't make enough. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this for breakfast and it was exactly how I hoped/expected it to be. My husband said they were 'good', but he does not typically care for lemon poppy seed. Well I do, and if you do too then you should make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My family loves these pancakes. I made the recipe as written except for one change: instead of using lemon juice i used a lemon concentrate. Great taste and not overpowering. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States