Sunday Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I love this and also use it with a mixture of whole wheat flour. It makes great hamburger/sandwich buns, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These came out very light and delicious. I do, however prefer my dinner rolls to have a bit more substance, be a little heavier. These were almost too light and airy, but the flavor was delicious. I made two batches for Thanksgiving this year and they were gone in no time. I used agave nectar rather than the sugar used in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aztecamama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made these for xmas dinner and sorry but they were not a hit! I didn't think they were bad that day but usually the next day I love the taste better so was hoping these would improve and instead they were Terribly Dry! I'm sad, it was a super easy recipe to follow and they rose great, looked good, taste wasn't bad but can't get over how dry they were the next day after baking, that should not be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I thought these tasted good, but I could never get them to roll out. I ended up making drop rolls instead of crescents and they were not as airy as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This rolls are FANTASTIC! I mean...REALLY! They were the hit of my Christmas dinner! Everyone absolutely loved them! I'm not a huge fan of rolls of any kind...until now! These will definitely be added to the family "favorites". They are light, airy...The dough is VERY gooey...lots of flour is needed to be able to roll them out and then shape them into rolls. I did not find that wax paper was of ANY use :( Just lots of flour on my countertop and some patience. I PROMISE you, they are worth it. With 1/2 a cup of sugar, they are a pretty sweet roll--but oh so yummy! I found that 8 minutes was not enough time in the oven, but 10 was perfect. And I did rub a bit of butter across the tops of them all, as soon as they came out of the oven! Thank you SOOO much Martha, for the fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I followed the advice of several others and halved the sugar and cut the triangles with a pizza cutter. This was a great recipe, and everyone loved these rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
They turned out great! I added a teaspoon and a half of baking powder for fluffinest and I only had 3 cups of flour so I used self rising also. I rolled out the dough and used a rolling pin to stretch out. I cut the dough with a pizza cutter, into rectangular shapes and let rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babilove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Yes, it is incredibly sticky but the original creator warned us about that. I do believe it is slightly sweet though, like others said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
YAY! This was the FIRST time I ever had bread come out that was like a lead brick! My rolls and bread was so light and fluffy. I was concerned about the refridgerating, but it made for an easy Thanksgiving! I had extra dough, and rolled four balls and off-set them in a bread pan. That even turned out wonderful, with a designed top! Very, very pleased with this recipe! Super easy, and turned out beautifully. I am now brave enough to continue more attempts at bread! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I just made this today. The recipe was easy to follow and came out great! I liked that I didn't have to kneed the dough and it rose faster than the regular recipe that I used to use for rolls. I'll DEFinitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: South Portsmouth, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States