Sunday Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
i have been using this recipe for over a year now. It is still the best and easiest one i have found. I also like to play with it a bit, add more sugar and raisins and you get sweet raisin loaves :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This dough is super sticky and hard for me to work with but WELL worth the effort. They come out so light, I even made them with mostly whole wheat and they were still fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
These were a huge hit at a party I took them to! I swapped the oil for melted butter, then added extra gluten, oat bran and flaxseed meal (to make it healthier). The dough does come out really sticky but bakes up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was the first time I have attempted bread, and it was perfect. I used a whole wheat flour, and butter instead of oil, and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used my bread macine for the dough and then followed the rising instructions as posted. I substituted water for milk and oil fro butter and the result was AM-A-ZING! Buttery, soft and very moist! I will use this as my standard bun recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarron Fabbricino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I have made this recipe so many times. Each time people ask me for the recipe. I do substitute butter for oil and cut it with a pastry cutter into the dry ingredients. You can also alter the recipe and make rolls the same day that you start the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Best rolls I've ever made!!! My eight year old helped me make these for our Easter Dinner and they turned out amazing!!! The dough was way to sticky to work with so we rolled them out with a lot of extra flour to make the croissants with. We brushed them with butter as they rose for the two hours and then we brushed them with butter after they came out of the oven. They were light, fluffy and the taste was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mighty Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Having attempted dinner rolls several times with limited success, I was a bit skeptical of this recipe. When I took them out of the fridge in the morning, I was concerned as they hadn't risen as much as I expected. Cooked them 3 hours later....my concerns were totally unfounded. They were DELICIOUS! Wish I would have tripled the recipe....guess I'll just have to make them more often...they are so easy! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBites33
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Pretty good. The dough wasn't too sticky for me to handle though don't be expecting the dough to feel like normal white bread dough. The only thing I didn't like was that it was a tad too sweet. (It said that the bread was going to be sweet in the description, but I didn't think it was as sweet as this). So I suggest that you decrease the sugar amount a little. Other than that, the texture is soft and wonderful. :) Also as a note, I let it rise for 8 hours in a warm room overnight, but did not let it rise another 2 hours after shaping, and it still turned out great. I can't wait to try the endless possibilities like adding cheese on top or adding in meat! A good recipe that I will be using again. *As an update, these rolls are perfect for sweet hot dog rolls. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBites33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I have made these several times for all of our holiday meals and they are great every time. Note: The dough is very, very sticky and impossible to work with unless you really flour your hands and work surface. Also, I use a pinch less sugar than is called for, and I cut out bigger triangles so I never have as much as the recipe says it serves. Making these yummy roles will be a tradition in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States