Sunday Best Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Yum! I was pleasantly surprised. I was skeptical of the pie filling. Make choices in the fruit, but the pie filling is what makes this recipe unique. I also used green grapes, black cherries and fresh pineapple. I mixed the fruit with the pie filling and put it in a huge container. I saved the canned pineapple for a stir-fry the next night, but used the juice for soaking as directed. With the huge amount of fruit, one can of pie filling was perfect. By the time I took it to the party, the fruit had released a little juice and it thinned the pie filling a bit. Everybody loved it and the addition of apples gave it a bit of crunch. Don't worry about making it ahead of time and adding the fragile fruit right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I added grapes and upped the amount of the other fruits. I didn't change the amount of pie filling. It was excellent! Make sure you drain all the fruit well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smello

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Yum! I left out the pie filling because it is a total red food, and this fruit salad was still great! My kids loved it and didn't touch their red food quota for the day. Great choice for kids trying to lose weight, especially on Kurbo! www.kurbo.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Laszlo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
So very tasty! This is my new go-to dish for a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was a hit!!!! I had my concerns with the peach pie filling. But it provides an excellent syrup for the salad. Feel free to add any fruit you wish, it will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this recipe for my daughters wedding party,it was a big hit,everybody loved it.I used grapes and mandarin oranges also,and made it the day before it was still a beautiful salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Excellent and well-liked! I didn't use kiwis, but it didn't matter; this adapts well to what kind of fruit you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsmcneill
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Ridiculously tasty. I made this for a carry-in at work and it was a huge hit. I didn't do anything differently except double the recipe. I mistakenly dumped the pineapple juice after soaking the apples and didn't soak the bananas, but I don't think that made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmcneill

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Love a fruit salad recipe that finds a way to use apples and bananas without them browning. Plus, I'm not a big melon fan and most fruit salads are mostly melons, so this was great! I liked how the peach pie filling made the whole salad gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
It took me a few days to figure out just what I didn't like about this fruit salad. The peach pie filling made it taste like a canned mixed fruit cup. I had a dinner guest that raved about it, but I am not fond of it. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roachwomanfw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States