Sunday Best Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
easy, delish, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Fantastic! This salad is great. I have added mandarin oranges or grapes to replace fruit I couldn't find or was out of season such as kiwi. This is easy enough my 11 year can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This fruit salad is wonderful! I have been making it for over a year and am always asked for the recipe. The soaking of the apples and bananas in the pineapple juice really keeps them from turning brown. Instead of kiwis, I usually use green grapes and per another review, i add a little vanilla. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I had to tell my grandmother to retire her recipe because this one beats it by far. Sorry grandma. I added some chopped grapes and blueberries like previous reviews. Instead of slicing the kiwis, I just chopped them into chunks. The hold better if you're lazy like me and just want to toss everything together. I doubled the banana, mainly because I wanted to use up the whole bunch. Loved it. Oh, and instead pineapple chunks, get the pineapple tid bits. The smaller pieces blend in nicely with the rest of the fruit. Update: I think this recipe would be even better if a fresh peach pie filling is used instead of the canned. Everything is so fresh but the overly soft canned peaches bring it down. I recommend using a pie filling recipe from this website to create the "goo" that comes from the can with fresh peaches when they are in season. 2013 Update: I've made this many times. Skip the canned peach pie filling. Use fresh peaches when in season and a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
The first time I made this, I followed it exactly and I thought it was too slimey. I tried the next time to just add 1/4 of the peach pie filling. I had dried all the fruit yet all the liquid settled after an hour and looked gross. I think if I make this again, I will just omit the peach pie filling and maybe sprinkle splenda or mix in some whipped cream for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abberella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The peach addition was very nice but don't know about the slime part for everyone though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
The pineapple juice soak a great way to keep fruit fresh for potlucks, bbqs, or any time you need to make ahead. I refrigerate the fruit cans and serving bowl before assembling. Apples and bananas make it an economical winter salad when other fruits are expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very yummy! I made it exactly as written and the whole family enjoyed it. It was even yummy the next day, as well, not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was actually quite good, We all were very surprized. No, really, we were! I made this salad as a side for breakfast for dinner. I used Jazz apples, I increased the kiwis and strawberries and I tossed my bananas and apples in a little lemon juice to keep them from browning. A pleasant surprize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Off season I used grapes and pears in place of berries and kiwis and it was still wonderful. I only rated it 4 since I changed the recipe and don't know how it tastes without alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States