Sunday Best Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Soaking the fruit that has a tendency to go brown in pineapple juice is a great idea! Much better flavor than tossing with lemon juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I have made this several times in the past. This is an excellent recipe and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is my new favorite recipe ! I have made it exactly as written each time, and it's pretty perfect as is, but I will agree that it would probably be good with virtually any kind of fruits. I intend to make this year-round, for any occasion (or. like today, for no occasion at all !) Wonderful on a hot summer day !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I made this today for a wedding shower. I doubled the recipe except for the peach pie filling. Everyone went crazy for this. This took some time cutting and chopping up the fruit but was well worth it. No one could guess the secret ingredient. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made a few changes: I substituted grapes for the kiwi AND I replaced the peach pie filling with peach puree (a small can of peaches pureed with a little cinnamon) as recommended by another reviewer. The pineapple juice on the apples & bananas worked very well. I made this for a Father's Day brunch and it was completely gone within 20 minutes. I have received lots and lots of rave reviews for this recipe, so I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
easy, delish, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Fantastic! This salad is great. I have added mandarin oranges or grapes to replace fruit I couldn't find or was out of season such as kiwi. This is easy enough my 11 year can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This fruit salad is wonderful! I have been making it for over a year and am always asked for the recipe. The soaking of the apples and bananas in the pineapple juice really keeps them from turning brown. Instead of kiwis, I usually use green grapes and per another review, i add a little vanilla. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I had to tell my grandmother to retire her recipe because this one beats it by far. Sorry grandma. I added some chopped grapes and blueberries like previous reviews. Instead of slicing the kiwis, I just chopped them into chunks. The hold better if you're lazy like me and just want to toss everything together. I doubled the banana, mainly because I wanted to use up the whole bunch. Loved it. Oh, and instead pineapple chunks, get the pineapple tid bits. The smaller pieces blend in nicely with the rest of the fruit. Update: I think this recipe would be even better if a fresh peach pie filling is used instead of the canned. Everything is so fresh but the overly soft canned peaches bring it down. I recommend using a pie filling recipe from this website to create the "goo" that comes from the can with fresh peaches when they are in season. 2013 Update: I've made this many times. Skip the canned peach pie filling. Use fresh peaches when in season and a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
The first time I made this, I followed it exactly and I thought it was too slimey. I tried the next time to just add 1/4 of the peach pie filling. I had dried all the fruit yet all the liquid settled after an hour and looked gross. I think if I make this again, I will just omit the peach pie filling and maybe sprinkle splenda or mix in some whipped cream for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abberella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States