Sunday Best Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This really is the best fruit salad I have ever had. The peaches really are the secret ingredient in this recipe. If using bananas make sure you dunk them in some pineapple juice a few seconds before putting them in the salad to keep them from turning brown. It really works well in keeping the salad for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very simple recipe and the dish is a hit everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
When I first made this recipe, I thought that it was a little better than just OK. After letting it sit in the fridge for a day, the gel became thicker and it also tasted much better. What I did next, just made this almost, "to die for", good. I was trying a new recipe on allrecipes.com called "white gelatin" and still had a little bit of the fruit salad left, so I used it as the topping. Wow! I can't believe how good the two taste together. In general, I don't like gelatin, but the white gelatin recipe is made from cool whip, cream cheese and gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This recipe was very good but I had to modify it. First beware of chilling before you serve. I put mine in the fridge overnight and the pie filling turned into some sort of gel and the whole thing was awful until it sat out a few hours (have you ever had refrigerated apple pie? that consistency). The other downside to my refrigeration was that the pineapple lost it's flavor. It absorbed the other flavors and ended up being pretty much just decoration. Second following a previous review I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1tsp of vanilla, which I thought was plenty. Very good but if you need to prep ahead make sure you have some time for the pie filling to return to consistency and wait to add the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Thanks for sharing this recipe! I've been looking for a good fruit salad and this was excellent! I sprinkled some Kashi Mountain Medley granola on it and that was good with it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Just Delicious. It stayed nice for several hours. No brown fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
would actually give this recipe 4/12 stars, because I thought the whole can of pie filling would be too much glaze. I originally put about 2/3 of the can in and the salad looked great and tasted great, everything was perfectly coated but then at the end I threw the last third and I realized that my original assumption was correct. it was a bit too much glaze but the recipe is delicious overall, the pineapple juice soak on the apples and bananas is pure genuis. I didn't have kiwi so I threw in halved green grapes and I had some blackberries on hand so I threw in those as well, very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was the first time I ever made fruit salad. My husbands family makes it all the time and loves to have it so I found this one and they loved it. My husband even said he likes it better than his mothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Recipe is the best! This fruit salad was very fresh tasting and was good the next day also. Thanks for the new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Who would've thought peach pie filling could do so much to pull a fruit salad together? This is wonderful! I made this for a Sunday morning football brunch, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States