Sunday Afternoon Slow-Cooked Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
super tasty, tender ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used this recipe for lamb ribs. Very easy and tasty, served with mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus. Doesn't get five stars because the ribs are a bit too greasy due to them cooking in the dissolved fat for 3 hours. That may be becasue I used lamb. Great dish to prepare during football season if the tv is close to the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I put the ribs in the pot to boil frozen and then started timing the boiling, so they didn't boil a full hour. I also added a little red wine to the sauce. I did everything else exactly as directed. I had never cooked ribs before. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Never again in a slow cooker....too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Meh. I got excited about this recipe, given all the rave reviews. And I did boil it first, but I think that gave it a funny smell that simmering in sauce didn't completely get rid of. My quest for delicious, yet not completely artery-clogging, ribs continues . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I used beef spare ribs; 1/2 veg broth and 1/2 red wine, and no seafood seasoning. Instead of minced onion I cut up onion rings and added that. I only browned, not boiled the ribs. It took only 3 hours in slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I used the recipe for just the sauce, nice flavor, a little too much Worcestershire sauce (I would use half that amount) and a little too sweet. The nutmeg was fine. I added 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch to make it thicker. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Outstanding!!!! Only deviation was didn't boil ribs and used apple cider vinegar. Can't wait to make for my entire gang. Totally worth the effort. Did the 2 hrs. at 250, 1 hr. at 300 and 45 min. at 350. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I had these for dinner last night and the family rated it a 5 star, so did I. Very good blend of flavors. I didn't boil before browning. They turned out very tender. These are excellent! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I had a 1/2 rack of baby back ribs in my freezer. I was looking for a different way to make them and came across this. It is very good! Next time I'm going to try it with spare ribs or St. Louis ribs. I didn't boil the ribs, just browned them. I minced a small onion instead of the dried onion. The ingredient list looks odd but it all comes together very deliciously! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States