Sunday Afternoon Slow-Cooked Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
As a culinary student I am always looking for good recipes to try. I must say this is by far the best recipe I've found for spare ribs! I did do a few things different though, I did not boil the ribs before browning them. I found that it was not needed. I did also add a little more Worcestershire sauce and beef stock to add a little more flavor. Other than that this is an awesome recipe! TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I didn't boil the ribs in water, but did brown them with garlic olive oil. I transfered all of that to a slow cooker. Next I made the sauce but I added two tablespoons of horseradish and 1/2 cup red wine. I let it cook on high for 4 hours. It was delicious. I'm saving the extra sauce to add beef and mushrooms to serve over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This came out good! I had some spareribs and NO clue how to cook them, so here comes AR ;) The combination of ingredients (and the fact that it's unrated) worried me a little, but I went with it and I'm very pleasantly surprised! I generally don't like nutmeg in savory dishes, but after the long cooking time, you can't pick it out amongst the other ingredients - everything blends nicely so that you can't pick out any one flavor. Very good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made these for my family, and they came out delicious! The only thing I changed was that after boiling them, I baked them at 250 degrees for 2 hours covered then 300 for an hour then the last 45 mins, I uncovered and baked at 350. They fell off the bone. Even my picky six year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I used country spare ribs, wonderful recipe.I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Awesome shortribs! Super moist and great flavor. I did not have beef broth, so I used vegetable broth. I cooked them at 250 for 3 hrs and 320 for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a 5-star pork rib recipe. I made the sauce exactly w/ no modifications, and followed Staschy's general method for cooking and the ribs fell off the bone in wonderful tenderness when done. Here's how: boiled the ribs in large pot of water 45 minutes. Made sauce exactly in dutch oven. Didn't brown the ribs, just put them directly in with sauce once sauce was made. Put lid on dutch oven, cooked 2 hours covered at 250, 1 hour covered at 300, 45 minutes uncovered at 350. The ribs fell off bone as took them out with tongs, had to use a spatula to support underneath to get the rack on a plate w/o meat falling off further. The sauce is a wonderful, rich, vinegar-based sauce. It was effortless to separate the meat from bone, shredded it, then plunged eat bite into the sauce before eating. My 9-y.o. daughter said she could literally eat this dish every meal for the rest of her life. :-) I would pay good money at a restaurant for ribs this delicious, tender and tasty. Make them this way and you'll say the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Photo by Mike in the Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent ribs. Only thing I did differently was that I did not boil the ribs first, but just browned them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very good, complex flavor. My 4 boys and husband and I all chowed down on them! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I read the recipe wrong... and thought the SLOW-Cook said SLOW-COOKER so I used the slow cooker. Worked perfectly! I never boil my ribs first as the flavour comes out into the water (thats why you boil vegetables and meat in water to make soup!). I just browned these quickly and threw into the slow-cooker. I made up the sauce as listed PLUS some garlic and poured it in. Turned it on HIGH for 6 hours, but they were perfect after only 4. I am only rating this a 4 because we thought the sauce was a little bland. When I make it again, I will use more brown sugar. My kids thought it was a little plain as well, so I zipped up some honey garlic sauce, coated the ribs and placed in the oven to get all sticky. The base flavour from the original recipe made these just wonderful! (which is what I am rating). The addition of honey garlic sauce to that already base flavour made it a 5 star in our house! Thanks for this recipe! Go ahead and let this cook in your slow cooker all day for a perfect dinner when you get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States