Sunday Afternoon Slow-Cooked Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This came out good! I had some spareribs and NO clue how to cook them, so here comes AR ;) The combination of ingredients (and the fact that it's unrated) worried me a little, but I went with it and I'm very pleasantly surprised! I generally don't like nutmeg in savory dishes, but after the long cooking time, you can't pick it out amongst the other ingredients - everything blends nicely so that you can't pick out any one flavor. Very good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very good, complex flavor. My 4 boys and husband and I all chowed down on them! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I didn't boil the ribs in water, but did brown them with garlic olive oil. I transfered all of that to a slow cooker. Next I made the sauce but I added two tablespoons of horseradish and 1/2 cup red wine. I let it cook on high for 4 hours. It was delicious. I'm saving the extra sauce to add beef and mushrooms to serve over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
As a culinary student I am always looking for good recipes to try. I must say this is by far the best recipe I've found for spare ribs! I did do a few things different though, I did not boil the ribs before browning them. I found that it was not needed. I did also add a little more Worcestershire sauce and beef stock to add a little more flavor. Other than that this is an awesome recipe! TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike in the Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent ribs. Only thing I did differently was that I did not boil the ribs first, but just browned them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made these for my family, and they came out delicious! The only thing I changed was that after boiling them, I baked them at 250 degrees for 2 hours covered then 300 for an hour then the last 45 mins, I uncovered and baked at 350. They fell off the bone. Even my picky six year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Awesome shortribs! Super moist and great flavor. I did not have beef broth, so I used vegetable broth. I cooked them at 250 for 3 hrs and 320 for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These are the best ribs I have ever made. I am a hit with all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wizard2b

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My family loved this! I always try to use fresh ingredients, so I used a whole onion that I minced and fresh squeezed lemon. I almost didn't try this one because of the picture. I cooked em overnight in my slow cooker. The sauce was thick and dark...just like the restaurants! My 11 year old daughter always orders ribs and she said these were the best she ever had. My picky husband said to save this one and make it every weekend :) I don't eat meat, but this smelled so good cooking. This is a must try recipe! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Flavor was good, not overpowering at all. Spareribs were pretty tender, too. Husband really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliekk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States