Sunday Afternoon Slow-Cooked Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
i'm not one to really go for ribs, but this one is really delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I just tried this recipe today and was very good. I had baby back ribs that I wanted to just cook over stove top so I tried this recipe. I did not boil the ribs; I removed all visible fat, sprinkled chinese five spices then browned them and followed the recipe without the seafood seasoning and nutmeg. After 1 1/2 hours, it was done. Sauce was thick and very good. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Perfect as written. To save time, I broiled ribs to brown. Did skip boiling. Threw in roasting pan with sauce, and followed the suggestion for 2 hrs at 250 degrees, 1 hr at 300 degrees and 45 mins at 350 degrees. Tender and flavorful. My rib officienado gave it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These are the best spare ribs I have ever had! Everyone loved them, I cant wait until ribs are on sale. I made pretty much as is, except I doubled the recipie and added some extra broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frazier Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
OMG, did all that this recipe said w/two minor changes; boiled only (didn't brown) and didn't have enough beef stock so added red wine to make up difference. SO DELISH and love how meat just fell off the bones. Would make this every weekend if it could. Hubby and son loved it. Sauce was nice to put over egg noodles too. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a 5-star pork rib recipe. I made the sauce exactly w/ no modifications, and followed Staschy's general method for cooking and the ribs fell off the bone in wonderful tenderness when done. Here's how: boiled the ribs in large pot of water 45 minutes. Made sauce exactly in dutch oven. Didn't brown the ribs, just put them directly in with sauce once sauce was made. Put lid on dutch oven, cooked 2 hours covered at 250, 1 hour covered at 300, 45 minutes uncovered at 350. The ribs fell off bone as took them out with tongs, had to use a spatula to support underneath to get the rack on a plate w/o meat falling off further. The sauce is a wonderful, rich, vinegar-based sauce. It was effortless to separate the meat from bone, shredded it, then plunged eat bite into the sauce before eating. My 9-y.o. daughter said she could literally eat this dish every meal for the rest of her life. :-) I would pay good money at a restaurant for ribs this delicious, tender and tasty. Make them this way and you'll say the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I used country spare ribs, wonderful recipe.I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom O'Driscoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Flavor was good, not overpowering at all. Spareribs were pretty tender, too. Husband really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliekk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My family loved this! I always try to use fresh ingredients, so I used a whole onion that I minced and fresh squeezed lemon. I almost didn't try this one because of the picture. I cooked em overnight in my slow cooker. The sauce was thick and dark...just like the restaurants! My 11 year old daughter always orders ribs and she said these were the best she ever had. My picky husband said to save this one and make it every weekend :) I don't eat meat, but this smelled so good cooking. This is a must try recipe! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These are the best ribs I have ever made. I am a hit with all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wizard2b

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States