Sunday Afternoon Slow-Cooked Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
super tasty, tender ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used this recipe for lamb ribs. Very easy and tasty, served with mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus. Doesn't get five stars because the ribs are a bit too greasy due to them cooking in the dissolved fat for 3 hours. That may be becasue I used lamb. Great dish to prepare during football season if the tv is close to the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I put the ribs in the pot to boil frozen and then started timing the boiling, so they didn't boil a full hour. I also added a little red wine to the sauce. I did everything else exactly as directed. I had never cooked ribs before. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Never again in a slow cooker....too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Meh. I got excited about this recipe, given all the rave reviews. And I did boil it first, but I think that gave it a funny smell that simmering in sauce didn't completely get rid of. My quest for delicious, yet not completely artery-clogging, ribs continues . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I used beef spare ribs; 1/2 veg broth and 1/2 red wine, and no seafood seasoning. Instead of minced onion I cut up onion rings and added that. I only browned, not boiled the ribs. It took only 3 hours in slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I used the recipe for just the sauce, nice flavor, a little too much Worcestershire sauce (I would use half that amount) and a little too sweet. The nutmeg was fine. I added 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch to make it thicker. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Outstanding!!!! Only deviation was didn't boil ribs and used apple cider vinegar. Can't wait to make for my entire gang. Totally worth the effort. Did the 2 hrs. at 250, 1 hr. at 300 and 45 min. at 350. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I had these for dinner last night and the family rated it a 5 star, so did I. Very good blend of flavors. I didn't boil before browning. They turned out very tender. These are excellent! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I had a 1/2 rack of baby back ribs in my freezer. I was looking for a different way to make them and came across this. It is very good! Next time I'm going to try it with spare ribs or St. Louis ribs. I didn't boil the ribs, just browned them. I minced a small onion instead of the dried onion. The ingredient list looks odd but it all comes together very deliciously! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States