Sunchoke and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Been wanting to make this for a very long time. Finally got some sunchokes. I subbed chicken sausage for turkey and used dried basil and oregano. really delicious.. first time trying sunchokes. Can't wait to use them in other dishes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Didn't have sausage or bacon on hand, so I omitted those ingredients and just added a cubed chicken breast (split in half, baked in oven at 350 til done). It was enough for our family of 5 - maybe a total of 7 servings??? And we have young kids. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I have to preface this with, I ate at a great restaurant last nite and woke up this morning still craving the Jerusalem artichoke soup I had, and this recipe appeared to be the closest. I had to half this recipe because I was making it for just my boyfriend and I. I substituted the turkey bacon for 4oz of pancetta, the turkey sausage for Italian chicken sausage, and fresh kale for the spinach. I did not add the pancetta or the chicken sausage to the veggies that were cooking for 45 min. After the 45min, I poured in 1/4 cp of heavy cream and 3/4 cp of half-n-half, mashed the potatoes with a potato masher, and then used my immersion blender to make the whole thing creamy. I added 1 Tbsp of sugar (kinda to cut the cayenne b/c I used a 1/2 tsp of it), and a healthy splash of lemon juice, and the chopped and cooked pancetta and chicken sausage. I let it all go for another 30 min, and in the end, this tasted as close to Chef Michael Chittum's Jerusalem Artichoke soup at Vermillion in Old Town Alexandria, VA, as a mere mortal could ever dream to come close to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I used regular bacon and mild Italian sausage and added mushrooms and baby spinach and it was delicious! Everyone loved it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This really is one of my favorites. Hate to rate my own recipe but sunchokes are totally underrated. I just made this again the other day and EVERYONE loved it. So unusual around here with all the rabid meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I changed this slightly and used pork sausage sicne that was what I had on hand. I also omitted the bacon. I made it in the slow cooker and didn't thicken it at the end. It was delicious and reminded me of Italian wedding soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was my first time eating sunchokes and they were delightful! This soup was superb. I used ground turkey instead of sausage and cooked the meat before adding the rest. Served it with homemade whole wheat bread and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Excellent flavor! Sauteed the vegies, browned the meat and then finished cooking in the crock pot. I did not add the flour/water for thickening. Will definitely make this soup again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States