Sunburst Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
this was a terrific lemon bar recipe. it even tasted better the next day. the crust was perfect it tasted just like a shortbread cookie. i did edit the frosting a little for my family. also i live in a very humid state and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This is such a GREAT lemon bar recipe, that I have searched for it for over 3 years now! I lost the recipe while moving and still have not forgotten about it! The uniqueness of these bars is the icing that goes on top to add a sweetness. I have found all other bars to be too drystally or too tart. Thank you KATHY E!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This is the classic! You can leave off the icing for the usual lemon bar, or try the icing for a different presentation. The filling is just the right tartness, though I also add the rind of one lemon finely zested to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was a great recipe !!!!! it was PERFECT the filling was moist and the crust was great!!! I give it 5 stars !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I LOVE these lemon bars!!! They are incredibly easy; even my 3 yr. old looks forward to whipping up a batch! I've made them about five times but had one flop. The second time I made them I used butter that was softened (instead of straight out of the fridge) and the crust was way screwed up! It was hard to "cut in", crubly, didn't fit in the regular baking dish, and the bars were thrown out - they tasted very odd. BUT - other than that this is my all time fave recipe! :) THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is one of my daughter's favorite treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Delicious. I made these and took some to quilting class and the instructor said "I think I have died and gone to heaven".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
what a wonderful bar!! i used a little extra lemon juice since i like things tart, and i also added the lemon zest for more flavor and colour. i did not ice these bars but i did dust them w/ powdered sugar after cutting them to hide the messy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Every time I make these everyone raves about them ! It is easiest to cut them if they have been kept in the fridge ... they do get soft if they aren't . Also , someone mentioned the edges become tough and chewy , I had this problem the first time and so now when I put the crust in I push it up the sides of the pan so when it is time to put the lemon layer on that batter doesn't actually touch the side of the pan ... I no longer have had a problem with the edges . This is a favorite recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Every bite is like a burst of sunshine in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States