Sunburst Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I agree with the many reviewers who found this recipe wonderful. And if you want it to come out wonderful, too, there are two keys to success: 1) Follow the recipe when it says to beat the filling mixture for 3-5 minutes. This is way to get the right consistency. Like some other reviewers, I also added a little extra lemon for some added tartness. 2) Don't exactly follow the recipe for the crust. Start with chilled butter instead of softened. Then, like pie crust, try to handle it as little as possible, hand mixing only enough to get it the right consistency. This is the key to getting the crust crumbly instead of tough. I made this recipe for this first time tonight, and served it to guests. One of them said, "I don't usually like lemon bars, but these are great!" Can't argue with success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Every time I make these everyone raves about them ! It is easiest to cut them if they have been kept in the fridge ... they do get soft if they aren't . Also , someone mentioned the edges become tough and chewy , I had this problem the first time and so now when I put the crust in I push it up the sides of the pan so when it is time to put the lemon layer on that batter doesn't actually touch the side of the pan ... I no longer have had a problem with the edges . This is a favorite recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is a great lemon bar recipe, a favorite of my friends and family. A friend's grandmother actually advised me to change up the filling mixture just a bit: I beat the eggs at least 5 minutes, and used 1/2 tsp of salt, only 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and 4T flour in the filling, along with 2 T of lemon zest. I like it better without icing, too, with just powdered sugar and a pinch of nutmeg sprinkled over the top. Here's another tip: I find it faster to "cut in" the butter with my hands. Just rub the mixture together between fingertips until it is evenly crumbled with the butter. I think next time I'll add more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arlene
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Absolutely perfect - sweet and tart at the same time. Recipie is easy and the results no matter how you put it together are always the same. My daughter *12* loves to make these and they are always a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This is the classic! You can leave off the icing for the usual lemon bar, or try the icing for a different presentation. The filling is just the right tartness, though I also add the rind of one lemon finely zested to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
These bars were just okay.The crust came out too hard and the filling was too soft. Also, the edges were tough and chewy so I had to cut them off. These bars aren't worth the trouble, I will not be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I've made this recipe a few times now and I love it. I make it for our youth group and it always goes fast. I haven't done it with the icing yet, but maybe someday. It's a great, simple recipe which doesn't take too much effort. I do reduce the sugar and I add a little extra lemon juice (about half again extra). But it's a great recipe. I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Excellent!!!! Very easy to make. Recipe is wonderful as is!! Definately will make again!! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Love the crust. I upped the lemon juice, I like my lemon desserts very tangy. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Fabulous! I made them yesterday and they're almost all gone. I subbed a half-cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup splenda for 1 cup white cause I had them on hand. I also ended up using quite a bit of lemon zest because someone knocked over most of the juice while I was stirring. Luckily this totally worked. In fact, it had the perfect sweet tartness. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States