Sunburst Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This did not turn out to be a "bar" we had to eat it with a spoon. (And not very lemony either. - really disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
These bars are tasty, but can be sensitive to the weather. Baking them on a humid day can make them mushy. Also, using margarine instead of butter in the crust makes a softer bar. I prefer them without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
this was a terrific lemon bar recipe. it even tasted better the next day. the crust was perfect it tasted just like a shortbread cookie. i did edit the frosting a little for my family. also i live in a very humid state and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
these were ok the crust was not what i expected it to be. I followed the recipe to a tee...It was very chewy but we did enjoy the filling. I think the next time I make these i will change the crust but keep the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This is such a GREAT lemon bar recipe, that I have searched for it for over 3 years now! I lost the recipe while moving and still have not forgotten about it! The uniqueness of these bars is the icing that goes on top to add a sweetness. I have found all other bars to be too drystally or too tart. Thank you KATHY E!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
very sweet i think that I will add less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I really liked the crust - more shortbread like and flaky. But I did not like the lemon topping. So I will combine this crust with another topping and I think I'll have the one I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This is the classic! You can leave off the icing for the usual lemon bar, or try the icing for a different presentation. The filling is just the right tartness, though I also add the rind of one lemon finely zested to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was a great recipe !!!!! it was PERFECT the filling was moist and the crust was great!!! I give it 5 stars !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I thought this was ok, but not great by any means. The crust was good, but I didn't like the lemon part. I was expecting the lemon filling to be more like it would be in a lemon meringue pie; but this filling was "airry". I also didn't like the topping. I am glad I made this before I went to the picnic next weekend, so I now know not to use it for that....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States