Sunburst Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I thought this was ok, but not great by any means. The crust was good, but I didn't like the lemon part. I was expecting the lemon filling to be more like it would be in a lemon meringue pie; but this filling was "airry". I also didn't like the topping. I am glad I made this before I went to the picnic next weekend, so I now know not to use it for that....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was a great recipe !!!!! it was PERFECT the filling was moist and the crust was great!!! I give it 5 stars !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This is the classic! You can leave off the icing for the usual lemon bar, or try the icing for a different presentation. The filling is just the right tartness, though I also add the rind of one lemon finely zested to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I really liked the crust - more shortbread like and flaky. But I did not like the lemon topping. So I will combine this crust with another topping and I think I'll have the one I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
very sweet i think that I will add less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This is such a GREAT lemon bar recipe, that I have searched for it for over 3 years now! I lost the recipe while moving and still have not forgotten about it! The uniqueness of these bars is the icing that goes on top to add a sweetness. I have found all other bars to be too drystally or too tart. Thank you KATHY E!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
these were ok the crust was not what i expected it to be. I followed the recipe to a tee...It was very chewy but we did enjoy the filling. I think the next time I make these i will change the crust but keep the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
this was a terrific lemon bar recipe. it even tasted better the next day. the crust was perfect it tasted just like a shortbread cookie. i did edit the frosting a little for my family. also i live in a very humid state and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
These bars are tasty, but can be sensitive to the weather. Baking them on a humid day can make them mushy. Also, using margarine instead of butter in the crust makes a softer bar. I prefer them without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This did not turn out to be a "bar" we had to eat it with a spoon. (And not very lemony either. - really disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States