Sunburst Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This recipe is great, but reduce the sugar by half (1 cup) so that they aren't over sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This recipe is excelent. I made it for the first time last week and served along with brownies, cookies, etc and the lemon bars were a success! The icing came out too liquid with the given proportion of sugar:lemon juice but it is easy to see when the consistency is just right for spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbfelix90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Great, just added a little more lemon juice and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
These are the best! The only difference I made was put some lemon zest in the icing. Oh, so lemony and delicious! Even my 8 year old son told me this was a "keeper", and asked if I would make them again tommorrow! My mother-in-law said they were the best lemon bars she has ever had and insisted on getting the recipe before she left. Fast and easy recipe that will get you compliments galore! Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I've made these twice now and I LOVE the crust. However, the first time the filling was way to sweet and not lemony enough. I made them again tonight decreasing the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and increasing the lemon juice to 1/2 cup they still just don't taste right. Plus the filling separated from the crust and developed a wierd tasting "skin" on the top. Could it be the baking powder? I'll continue to search for the perfect lemon bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
These were phenomenal! Easy to make and absolutely delicious. I followed the pointers from other reviewers - using chilled butter and for the filling I used 4T of flour, 1/2 tsp of salt, and 1/2 tsp baking powder, and beat for 5 minutes. I added more lemon juice than was called for, since I like my lemon bars lemony. I skipped the icing, since I'm not a big fan and just put conf. sugar on top. These were so good, it's ridiculous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Byron, New York, USA
Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
These were a hit!The crust was buttery and delicious. I added lemon zest and a little extra lemon juice just to make sure it was very lemon flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
My daughter and I had a blast making these and they are so easy. My mother-in-law is a Lemon Bar Queen and My wife said these were just as good. Maybe needed more lemons but she is a "lemon-head!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This is the same recipe as my beloved Lemon Love Notes, except that I add 4 teaspoons grated lemon rind to the filling and skip the glaze. I dust the top with powdered sugar before serving. They are always a big hit and I get requests for the recipe whenever I take them anywhere. I have been making these for 30 years and plan to continue to make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years, but the name I have on it is "lemon love notes". Have taken it to many potluck and always asked for the recipe. When I feel like something totally decadent I top them with lemon cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States