Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I dry my own tomatoes in a dehydrator and have experimented with seasoning prior to drying: all were bad ideas. The water goes out and the seasonings all get too intense. So: NO SALT. After drying, I store in the freezer in Ziploc bags. To rehydrate: soak in stock of any kind (even beef bouillon), or white wine, or oils of any type (including grape seed oil) or in cider or balsamic vinegar. Get creative! Yes, this is the time to add all the seasonings. Or, instead of reconstituting prior to cooking, just chop up and toss into omelets or frittatas or whatever you're making. Such wonderfully intense tomato flavor without all the runny juices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Note: I find Plum tomatoes are best for drying, but any will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
these come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
These are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
So easy and convenient for adding your own desired flavors. Love this recipe! Saves lots of $ because buying sun-dried tomatoes can really add up on your grocery bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Excellent Although I picked 500 cherry tomatoes for this recipe and iit reduced down to 2 small ziplock bags, I don't regret it. The end results were excellent. Easy to do as we'll. as others have stated, make sure the tomatoes are removed from the oven whole still somewhat leathery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
So very easy and so much less expensive than buying sun-dried tomatoes -- as long as you have the time. I only had a few hours so I sliced my tomatoes thin. They we almost perfect after about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I cut the tomatoes in smaller pieces because it takes too long in the oven when they are just halved. Sprinkled them with salt and pepper. They turned out awesome! They freeze well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So easy and it was kind of fun to make. I'm not sure if my family will except these funny looking tomatoes but if not I guess I'll eat them myself! I added salt & pepper and Herbs DeProvence; I upped my temp to 225 to help dry faster. I probably should have left them in longer, I only had them in for 5 1/2 hours. They looked done to me but after looking at some others pics I can tell mine had a little plumpness still to them. I let them cool and then put in a jar with some garlic slices, basil and Olive Oil. Placed in the refrigerator. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I found these very easy to make, and very tasty. I had 3 roma tomatoes from our garden and a handful of leftover grape tomatoes. This yielded about 1/4 cup sun drieds. I cut the grape tomatoes in half, and cut the romas so that the pieces were about the same size for even baking. My cooking time was approximately 3-3.5 hrs. I do not have a non stick pan so I sprayed my pan with an olive oil cooking spray. I placed the tomatoes skin side down; not sure if that made any impact but I read several recipes on other sites that suggested this. I am so happy with the final product. They are a pretty dark red color, and even taste great plain! Can't wait to try them with pasta. I am thinking they might be good in small jelly jars as Christmas gifts. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States