Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Excellent. I didn't have crushed tomatoes so I left them out, nor the onion or balsamic so I subbed red wine vinegar(a visit to the grocery store was out). Also, I added some brazil nuts, extra basil and parsley and hand crushed it in batches in my mortar and pestle(my blender jammed). My shoulders hurt, but it was worth it for this heavenly concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Really, really delicious. In my opinion, the oil needs to be reduced by about a quarter, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinnytsia, Vinnytsia Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Great recipe...Don't forget you can add cooked, diced chicken or pork; shrimp, clams etc...We like things more garlicky so we use more garlic...If you want to thin it out any, use a little of the pasta cooking water....This can be adapted to so many things
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
my version: 4 oz sun dried tomatoes, 3/4 c fresh basil, 1/4 c fresh parsley, 1/2 small onion, 1/4 c pine nuts, 4 cloves garlic, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 small can tomato sauce, 1/4 c red wine vinegar, 1/8 c balsamic vinegar...combine in blender and then add parmesan cheese on top. This was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Fantastic! Despite having to omit the red wine & Parmesan, the flavor was phenomenal. I like that this recipe uses "dry" sun-dried tomatoes instead of the oil-packed ones, because they're easier to keep on hand (& more economical). I added triple the amount of basil because I thought I would like more basil flavor in it. Had to also sub dried parsley for fresh. Still amazingly good stirred in with spaghetti, can't wait to try it with Parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
a little troublesome, but tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This was awesome. I used this to make the Artichoke and sun-dried tomato chicken (on the site) and it is a family hit. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Gross? do you know that is what Pesto is supposed to look like? Omitting the Parmesan cheese is illogical. why? then, it isn't pesto = a key ingredient taken out. Understand what you're making. I found this absolutely fantastic & creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I love this! I had some dehydrated roma tomatoes in my freezer from last summer's harvets. I made a half batch only because my mini-chopper is small. Gross looking, buh? That's what pesto looks like! I would hardly call it gross looking. I omitted the canned tomatoes, because I didn't feel like opening a can for half of a 1/3 cup. It turned out great. I froze half so I could enjoy pesto and bread later on. I omitted the cheese too because I'm lactose intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Wow does this ever look gross... and I have the tomato paste to thank for that. If you can get beyond the look and put it on french bread with melted cheese on top it is wonderful. I left out a number of things: Parmesean and red wine for example; but I doubt that those things would AID in how awful it looks. This is not something I would ever serve on pasta but as an appetizer hidden beneath cheese it is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States