Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Tasted better before I added the sun-dried tomatoes. I think I may have just had too much. I used a little oil from the tomatoes in place of some of the olive oil too. I also omitted the basil, so maybe using that would have balanced the flavors a little more. I only used 1/2 tsp of salt and didn't think it needed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very good hummus! Fresh basil is a must in this recipe, it really gives a nice taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Absolutely amazing! It was delicious! I didn't have tahini and didn't want to mess with it so I added a couple of splashes of sesame oil and it worked out perfectly! No one missed the taste and calories of the tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Very tasty! I "lightened" it for a positive outcome, using 1 Tbsp sesame oil instead of tahini, rinsed the sun-dried tomatoes & used only 1/4 cup olive oil. Reserve the liquid from the garbanzo beans, and add in a bit at a time to get the right consistency & blend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
this recipe is great! much better than others i've found, and really very simple. i added half of a jalapeno pepper for some extra spice, and used the plain, bagged sun-dried tomatoes to save money...they are much cheaper than the ones packed in oil. this did require a little more olive oil, but it was totally worth it! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I did an 8-serving batch with a few slight modifications, and found this great! I only used one clove of garlic, and instead of the 1/4 cup olive oil, I used 2 tablespoons of the oil from the sun dried tomatoes and about 1/2 the liquid from the beans as other posts suggested. Also, I did only one tablespoon of dried basil flakes because I didn't have fresh basil. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I doubled the recipe and followed directions exactly. This was awful! After spending a lot of money for the ingredients and the time spent blending together, I was very disappointed. I bought store made and it was totally different. The store bought was creamy. This recipe was dry and clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is fabulous! The best hummus by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was a very tasty dish. Both my dinner guest and husband loved it. We ate it with wheat pita bread and a variety of vegetables. This will be a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
We made as specified, except that we used dried tomatos that we're oil packed. It was great and everyone raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States