Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I've tried many different variations of hummus but this one is my favorite. The only thing I changed was to use the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes jar instead of regular olive oil. It really gives it the kick of sun-dried tomato flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARMAL8513

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Awesome! I halfed the recipe (used 1 clove of garlic) and omitted the tahini - AMAZING! This is the best hummus I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This hummus is the best that I have ever had! One time I made this recipe and substituted the sun dryed tomatoe for 1 whole jalipeno. Again, the hummus was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Excellent start of a recipe! I was intrigued by the idea of adding sundried tomatoes...the only change I made was to roast the garlic first as I find raw garlic to be very bitter in hummus. Roasting gives it a nice, sweet taste. I also used tomatoes I dried myself and elminated the use of the oil altogether as I find it isn't necessary and adds calories. I drizzle up to a 1/4 of water into the hummus while pureeing to obtain the desired consistency. With these tweaks - I have a heart healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
What can I say? this is just a great recipe! I make it all the time now- I just need a better processor! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was good - my first attempt at hummus turned out very well and I got a lot of great comments about it! I will try other recipes next time - but this one had lots of tomato flavor and a nice texture! I did add in some of the juice from the beans to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Awesome recipe! I make this weekly. I also add chopped artichoke hearts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I didn't have that much olive oil so I used less. Added red pepper for a little kick. It's good with pita chips. Great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Oh, wow. This is SO good! I just realized I forgot to add the basil, but it's still excellent. I took another reviewer's suggestion and used some of the oil from the tomatoes. The texture is just wonderful, and the flavor is perfect. This will be a regular in our house. Next time, I'll remember the basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe for hummus. I have made it a few times, but I add canned tomato also to give it some more tomato flavor and to help with the consistency. I also think this has a bit too much garlic. Everyone I serve this to loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States