Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made tonight...awesome. But also used as a base. I did not add olive oil but simply used the rest of the flavored oil in the sun dried tomato jar. I also squeezed half a lemon on top, and added a LOT more herbs from my own garden (basil, oregano, parsley), plenty of pepper and then i also cut up some fresh baby spinach. Salt/pepper to taste and voila! Know it will be even better tomorrow morning for hubbie's lunch through the week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloucester Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Cut the recipe in half and followed the adjusted ingredients amounts. It has a delicate flavor when made as written. Next time I'll follow some of the other reviewers advice and add more of the basil/tomato mixture and maybe add some feta cheese and/or red wine vinegar and kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
A wonderful and very tasty side dish. It was missing a little something, not quite sure what yet, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!!!! we make it all the time and miss it when its not there. and grind fresh parmesan...really makes it the best. thanks Kgwen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Very tasty! I read the reviews and noticed some said it was a little bland, so I cut the orzo in half but left everything else the same. Turned out great - very flavorful. Tasty when warm too! I saved myself from having to wash the food processor and just chopped everything up by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Wonderful pasta side dish! I love sun dried tomatoes and with parmesan cheese and fresh chopped basil mixed in with the orzo pasta it is simply 5 stars in my book. I scaled down this recipe for two people thou I wished now that I hadn't because we gobbled this up and it was just tasty. I added a T of olive oil instead of 2T because I used some of the oil from the sun dried tomato jar to add some flavor to the pasta. I seasoned this with salt and black pepper and served this warm alongside, "Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Roll Ups," and "Smothered Green Beans, " all from this site. They complemented each other very well. Amazing flavors and wishing I could have some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Simple yet fantastic. Try this, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is very good, it taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Pretty good, but not a total keeper! I think I will keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States