Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Super simple and flavorful. A great go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a great "idea" recipe! Like so many others I tweaked it just a bit to fit my tastes. Instead of orzo I used pipettes. I used regular sun dried tomatoes instead of oil packed and added a little starchy pasta water to help everything blend and keep the oil down. Then I tossed in 4 or 5 pitted kalamata olives, 1/2 a small shallot, a garlic glove, 1 tbs of vegan parmesan (instead of 3/4 cup) and 1 tbs giardiniera on top of the other ingredients (minus the salt - the olives are pretty salty). Then I mixed it all with the warm pasta and topped with a bit more vegan parm. Even my ridiculously picky husband liked it. I will be making again! So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I cheated. Rather than prepare Orzo, I mixed the other ingredients with brown rice. I'd do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I thought this was rather decent, I can see me changing one slight thing in this recipe. decrease the amount of basil I chop and stuff into a 1/3 cup. Thats where, I feel it was over powering for me. My family liked it, my son was a 3 star because of the tomatoes but still ate it. What I did when chopping the basil was chop and stuff, chop and stuff into the measuring cup...not next time. I'll chop and toss into the cup, when it reaches the top...I stop. Plan and simple. As much as I love basil in some things..I don't like the overwhelming flavor of it to the point I can't taste anything else. And in this case...it's exactly what I did. But the ease of the ingredients and the quickness to throw it together, is a 5 star. Live and learn. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Made this with home grown sundried tomatoes and added some pine nuts. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Fast, easy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valentinesdaybaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
We make this all the time as a main dish. For two of us we use 1 cup orzo, 1/3 cup pesto (which we usually have on hand and we have made it both ways and don't taste a big difference), 1/3 cup julienned sun dried tomatoes, and 3/4 cup Parmesan. We just cook the pasta and dump the rest of the ingredients in & stir! Much easier than using a food processor! You can add salt & pepper to taste. We add shrimp to make it a main dish. Very quick, easy, & TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
WOW!! Great recipe! Just made for a BBQ later in the day, since I read that it is good cold, too. I boiled the orzo in veg broth and doubled the basil-tomato mixture. I also added some toasted pine nuts for some crunch. Even my 1 YO loved it!!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made this recipe this morning and OMG, it's fantastic! I made it as stated except for adding a bit extra basil and sun-dried tomato for personal preference. I can't wait to bring it to my next potluck. Fresh and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Now one of my favorite side dishes! The only changes I made were to double the basil and sundried tomatoes. I also added some bullion to the water I cooked the orzo in to give it a little more flavor. Used some of the oil from the sundried tomato jar instead of olive oil. This is a very simple recipe but really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States