Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Was very good. I had grown some basil and was ready to use I had spicy sun dried tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Great recipe I added red wine vinegar, a little oregano and lemon zest. Delish perfect side dish to chicken lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Had veggies from the garden to use up. Sauteed chopped red onion, yellow squash, red pepper and a couple of mushrooms in sun dried tomato oil for a minute or two so they remained crunchy. Added the veggies to the orzo along with the suggested red wine vinegar and garlic powder. Substituted the sun dried tomato oil for the plain EVOO. This was delicious! Thank you for a very versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Ronda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This was surprisingly delicious and satisfying both the night it was cooked and the next day as cold salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Ok, when my guys smelled it, they turned their nose up, but after tasting it they loved it. Of course, I made changes to suit their tastes and after reading other reviews. So, I added a clove of minced garlic, a very thin slice of minced red onion, and some chopped kalamatas. I combined everything beforehand to allow time for the flavors to meld. Then I cooked the orzo in veg broth, drained and mixed everything before cooking the steaks to allow some time for the flavors to coat the pasta. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Good basic recipe but needs to be spiced up for our liking. I used the oil from the tomatoes and did not add any extra oil also added garlic powder, pepper flakes, and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I thought this was a very good side dish. My kids were not overly impressed. They picked around the sundried tomatoes, but I didn't use tomatoes packed in oil, because I wanted to use up some that I had on hand which weren't oil-packed. That may have made the difference. I just enjoyed the cold leftovers for lunch . . . the dish seems much saltier than it did when served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Really light and refreshing. I changed a few things. I browned my orzo in a bit of butter in a skillet, then covered with chicken broth and simmered till broth absorbed and orzo was tender. Added leftover grilled rosemary chicken and swapped out the basil for an italian seasoning blend. Made it into a complete meal, which was (mostly) enjoyed by everyone. Not the kids' favorite, but they all ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Very good!! My son LOVED this and kept saying, 'mmmm' while he was eating it, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
very boring - had to add lots of Parmesan to get flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States