Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I thought this was a very good side dish. My kids were not overly impressed. They picked around the sundried tomatoes, but I didn't use tomatoes packed in oil, because I wanted to use up some that I had on hand which weren't oil-packed. That may have made the difference. I just enjoyed the cold leftovers for lunch . . . the dish seems much saltier than it did when served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Really light and refreshing. I changed a few things. I browned my orzo in a bit of butter in a skillet, then covered with chicken broth and simmered till broth absorbed and orzo was tender. Added leftover grilled rosemary chicken and swapped out the basil for an italian seasoning blend. Made it into a complete meal, which was (mostly) enjoyed by everyone. Not the kids' favorite, but they all ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Very good!! My son LOVED this and kept saying, 'mmmm' while he was eating it, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
very boring - had to add lots of Parmesan to get flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I found this recipe to be really easy but the orzo to be just ok. I had to spice it up a lot. I served it hot and after following the original recipe, I added sautéed garlic, onions and spinach into the orzo. I used grated parmesan cheese to taste (which ended up being a lot) as well as salt, and very little pepper. I also used lemon juice and a pinch of brown sugar. After those altercations the dish was great. Ill defiantly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very nice. Next time will double everything except orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great recipe but I agree with other reviews. Double the amount of basil and sun dried tomatoes. This is a great pre- and post- workout salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Jackson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clear Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Thanks for sharing this delicious flavor combo! I make my orzo a little differently and I halved the recipe as it is just the 2 of us. I melt 2 tbsps butter in a saucepan and then add a cup of orzo and saute until lightly toasted. Add 14.5 ozs of water and 2 teaspoons of chicken base and bring to a boil. Boil for about 15 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. I then added the tomatoes, basil and Parmesan cheese. Salted and peppered to taste and left out the olive oil as it had great flavor, and I didn't feel it was needed. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We made this for a dinner party, this is superb for people who are trying to cater to a more vegetarian pallet OR anyone, actually! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I tried this recipe tonight and it was wonderful. I love sun dried tomatos...so there you go. You can take this receipe as is or add your own touches to fit your taste. But some times less is more. Will make again. Thanks for the receipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States