Sun-Dried Tomato and Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
My husband really enjoyed this and so did I! I made a few changes. I used 1/2 cup bottled pesto, about 5 ounces sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil & spices, used red pepper flakes instead of cayenne, and used thin spaghetti in place of bow tie pasta. I also grilled up two thinly sliced chicken breasts, cooked in a bit of the rich oil from the sun dried tomatoes jar. We had the chicken cut up on top of the pasta, with pine nuts and parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. Gourmet meal and something I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I changed the ingredients a little bit (and did a little rearranging). For the pesto, in the food processor I mixed the following: 2 cups fresh basil, 1 heaping tablespoon of minced garlic, 1/2 cup grated Parmesan, 1/3 cup olive oil, & 1/4 cup pine nuts. (I did not sauté more garlic). Instead of dried tomatoes, I used sundried tomatoes packed in oil and then left out the extra 1/8 cup oil. I also threw in about 1/4 cup of fat free half & half to simmer with the pesto/mushroom mix. Right before I tossed the mix with my fettuccine noodles, I added a huge bunch of fresh spinach and let it wilt before mixing it all together. All in all, it is a great recipe. I really think it would have been too dry with the original pesto ingredients but the flavor is amazing. I was shocked by the cayenne at first for some reason, but after a couple of bites it grew on me as something deliciously different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Easy Recipe, looks great, and tastes great hot or cold. Fresh Basil makes it MUCH better as does a 1/4 cup of parmesan mixed in and 1/4 cup of pine nuts for a more gourmet flavor. No need to mince the nuts at all, try enjoying their buttery bite. And please don't "rinse" your oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes as another reviewer suggested, simply drain whatever amount of tomatoes you want to use, and adjust the amount of extra olive oil to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAOTICA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
With a few changes this can be an outstanding dish. One teaspoon of cayenne is overpowering. I would go to 1/2 to 3/4 tsp depending on taste. Make your own fresh pesto and add about 5-6 tablespoons of that. Very tasty, delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I am giving this five stars based on a few changes. I made regular pesto (3 C fresh basil, 1/5 C pine nuts, 1/4 c parmesan, 3/4 c olive oil, 3 cloves garlic) in the food processor. Then in a sauce pan I sauteed cut up chicken breast in olive oil with pepper and 1 t mined garlic. I then added the fresh mushrooms, cayenne pepper and 5 oz sundried tomatoes (The salt is not needed for this recipe). After all of that was cooked, I drained the excess oil before adding the pesto. I let it simmer until the pesto was warmed through and served over whole grain penne. I sprinkled parmesan on top of it all. It was absolutely delicious and looked really gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
great recipe! Tastes like the beginning's of Macaroni Grill's chicken and bow tie pasta--all it lacks is some heavy cream and grilled chicken, which we will add next time for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This recipe is great, minus the cayenne pepper. If you like spicy, keep it in, but if you want to be able to taste any other dish, I recomend taking it out. Also Classico make a great pesto sauce that I use instead of making my own. I think it turns out nicer. I also added more sundried tomatoes, mushrooms and I also put in some pine nets to give it a little something extra. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very good but really greasy!. I was never told that Sun-Dried Tomatoes packed in oil need to be rinsed first.That was my screw up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This recipe was excellent. I read all the reviews and incorportated all the suggestions that others had made. I made the pasta the night before and it was wonderful the next day. My suggestion, add more mushrooms, less cayenne, toast the pine nuts and boil the tomatoes until soft enough to cut easily. This would also be excellent served hot with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
Nice - I think the dryness issue is solved by either using sun dried tomatoes packed in oil (it's not specified in the recipe) rather than dry OR rehydrate dried ones first. Also using fresh basil works better than the dried for any type of real pesto. The pine nuts (which I omit because I don't like them that well) and garlic will burn really quickly, so be quite careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States