Sun-Dried Tomato and Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
With a few changes this can be an outstanding dish. One teaspoon of cayenne is overpowering. I would go to 1/2 to 3/4 tsp depending on taste. Make your own fresh pesto and add about 5-6 tablespoons of that. Very tasty, delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
great recipe! Tastes like the beginning's of Macaroni Grill's chicken and bow tie pasta--all it lacks is some heavy cream and grilled chicken, which we will add next time for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
WOW! This is now one of my favorite pasta dishes! What a wonderful combination of flavors with just a modist kick from the pepper! This is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This recipe is great, minus the cayenne pepper. If you like spicy, keep it in, but if you want to be able to taste any other dish, I recomend taking it out. Also Classico make a great pesto sauce that I use instead of making my own. I think it turns out nicer. I also added more sundried tomatoes, mushrooms and I also put in some pine nets to give it a little something extra. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Easy Recipe, looks great, and tastes great hot or cold. Fresh Basil makes it MUCH better as does a 1/4 cup of parmesan mixed in and 1/4 cup of pine nuts for a more gourmet flavor. No need to mince the nuts at all, try enjoying their buttery bite. And please don't "rinse" your oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes as another reviewer suggested, simply drain whatever amount of tomatoes you want to use, and adjust the amount of extra olive oil to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAOTICA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I tried this recipe exactly as described. The flavors were good but it seemed like the recipe turned out too dry. The oil is absorbed in the dried basil and dried tomatoes so their isn't much liquid left to simmer. I think fresh basil would have made a big difference, or prepared pesto from a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2004
Nice - I think the dryness issue is solved by either using sun dried tomatoes packed in oil (it's not specified in the recipe) rather than dry OR rehydrate dried ones first. Also using fresh basil works better than the dried for any type of real pesto. The pine nuts (which I omit because I don't like them that well) and garlic will burn really quickly, so be quite careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
this recipe was wonderful with a little bit of tweaking. First, I used walnuts instead of pine nuts. Second, I kept the sun-dried tomatoes in the boiling water for longer than 30 seconds. Probably a minute to a minute and a half. I also reduced the cayenne pepper and added sauteed zuchinni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This was good, but you need to double the sauce, or it will be way too dry. You can use pre-made pesto as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I was surprised...this was really good! I replaced bow-tie pasta for a spiral wheat pasta and it was still great. I also added chicken. Next time I will add more mushrooms. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States