Sun-Dried Tomato and Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
On the dry side. I would definetely tweek it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I changed the ingredients a little bit (and did a little rearranging). For the pesto, in the food processor I mixed the following: 2 cups fresh basil, 1 heaping tablespoon of minced garlic, 1/2 cup grated Parmesan, 1/3 cup olive oil, & 1/4 cup pine nuts. (I did not sauté more garlic). Instead of dried tomatoes, I used sundried tomatoes packed in oil and then left out the extra 1/8 cup oil. I also threw in about 1/4 cup of fat free half & half to simmer with the pesto/mushroom mix. Right before I tossed the mix with my fettuccine noodles, I added a huge bunch of fresh spinach and let it wilt before mixing it all together. All in all, it is a great recipe. I really think it would have been too dry with the original pesto ingredients but the flavor is amazing. I was shocked by the cayenne at first for some reason, but after a couple of bites it grew on me as something deliciously different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was good, I enjoyed it, though it wasn't as well received with the rest of the family. I went light on the cayenne and had to do some substitution with the pesto. The next time I make this, I'll use the following pesto recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pesto-Sauce/Detail.aspx. I believe that this will elevate this recipe to 5+ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It was ok as a base. It was too dry and needs a lot of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This recipe was excellent. I really enjoyed it! I used fresh chopped basil instead of dried and also added shrimp to my dish. To combat dryness I added a 1/2 cup of water and 1-tablespoon of olive oil to the mushrooms/pesto sauce while I was waiting on the noodles to finish cooking. I didn't use pine nuts or cayenne. I added crushed red pepper to my dish separately for extra kick. I will save this recipe and use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
very tastey and like it as something different than the same ole same ole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Didn't taste like normal pesto and was a bit dry. Probably better to use fresh basil and maybe add some cream to make it moist?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Adding a little cream or half and half makes it nice a saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
It is now also one of my favourite meals!!! Great mixture of tatses!! It was really yummy!!! I left out the pepper, cause I'm not such a spice liker and i used shop bought pesto... But it was absolutely gorgeus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This recipe turned out so well! I pretty much followed the recipe, except I added artichoke hearts and used whole wheat rotini instead of bow tie. I also mixed in some extra italian cheeses and some whole pine nuts at the end. Next time I will make it as an entree with some grilled chicken on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States