Sun-Dried Tomato and Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
It's good, but nothing overly special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I am giving this five stars based on a few changes. I made regular pesto (3 C fresh basil, 1/5 C pine nuts, 1/4 c parmesan, 3/4 c olive oil, 3 cloves garlic) in the food processor. Then in a sauce pan I sauteed cut up chicken breast in olive oil with pepper and 1 t mined garlic. I then added the fresh mushrooms, cayenne pepper and 5 oz sundried tomatoes (The salt is not needed for this recipe). After all of that was cooked, I drained the excess oil before adding the pesto. I let it simmer until the pesto was warmed through and served over whole grain penne. I sprinkled parmesan on top of it all. It was absolutely delicious and looked really gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe was really good to me because I love sun-dried tomatoes but the spices were lacking a little. I followed the recipe to the t. The family was not so impressed so I probably won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
My husband really enjoyed this and so did I! I made a few changes. I used 1/2 cup bottled pesto, about 5 ounces sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil & spices, used red pepper flakes instead of cayenne, and used thin spaghetti in place of bow tie pasta. I also grilled up two thinly sliced chicken breasts, cooked in a bit of the rich oil from the sun dried tomatoes jar. We had the chicken cut up on top of the pasta, with pine nuts and parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. Gourmet meal and something I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
very good-followed advise of previous reviewer and used jarred pesto. I omitted mushrooms and then used jarred sun dried tomatos in oil-drain on paper towels before adding so not too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chargis1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Both my husband and I loved this, though we made a couple of minor changes. We liked it so much I'm making it for company tomorrow! A great dish for pasta that's not just another tomato sauce. I cheated and (per a previous post) used 6 TBL of Classico pesto sauce instead of making my own. I also used a large can of mushrooms, fresh ones always seem to disintegrate on me. Just for more color I threw in 1/2 can of drained petite diced tomatoes. (I don't think they added any flavor.) I used jarred marinated sun dried tomatoes and cut them into pieces with scissors, just threw them right in this way..no blanching. We used angel hair pasta just 'coz we had that - again, this was SO good! I also ate it room temp the next day, yummy still. A good dish for a pot luck. Like other reviewers mentioned, this only made enough sauce for about 10 oz of pasta. (Well, angel hair anyway.) And since hubby doesn't like spicy food, I only threw in two dashes of cayenne - that still gave it a good kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I loved this. I took advice of other reviewer and made fresh pesto with fresh basil, pine nuts and parm cheese. I also used sun dried tomatoes and omitted the extra oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very good but really greasy!. I was never told that Sun-Dried Tomatoes packed in oil need to be rinsed first.That was my screw up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Really Good!! I exchanged the pine nuts with Pistacios and added yellow and red peppers to it. Talk about colors and tasted. Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Jay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
great as a side dish or main!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States