Sun Dried Tomato and Asiago Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Delicious! I removed the dough from the bread machine and then baked it a traditional loaf pan. Next time I will form it into two smaller rustic loaves. My husband and I both really loved this bread! Kind of costly to buy the Amaranth flour and a good asiago cheese, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
OK, need to add my 2 cents. Pretty much followed receipe. From other reviews I decided to use the olive oil from sun dried tomatoes packed in oil (olive oil w/Italian seasoning). Used about 3 heaping tablespoons of julienned sun dried tomatoes in oil (didn't rinse). Also, instead of basil used Italian seasoning. Didn't think 1 tsp of yeast was enough -used 2. (the receipe book for my Breadman said for 3 cups of flour to use 2 tsp yeast). I did increase the Asiago cheese to about 1/2 C as I didn't know what to do with the rest of it (next time I will buy the grated parmesan with asiago - it's quite a bit cheaper.) Anyway, it turned out great. To the author: I apologize for the changes. Per author, I used bran instead of amaranth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This bread is AWSOME! I used my bead maker on the dough setting then I kneaded it one more time, formed it into a loaf and let it rise for another hour on a floured baking sheet. Before baking I scored the top, brushed it with olive oil and sprinkled with rock salt. Baked in a 400degree oven for about 30 mins. I too added more tomato and asiago than directed. I cut some of the asiago into small chunks so you would be able to see it in the bread. I also added two cloves of garlic. This bread is easy and delicious. Also looks awesome when it comes out of the oven. Great toasted with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Athenarose
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I thought it made a very tasty and beatiful bread. My kids liked it also, my husband not so much. He said something taste odd about it but I think he just doesn't like Asiago cheese in this bread. I used sun-dried toms from a jar cause we do not have Trader Joes up here (I live on a island in AK) we also don't have amaranth flour so I used bread. I will make again and I think I will double the sundried tomatoes. When I return to the lower 48 I will make it with the sundried tomato flakes that Marlene used. Ty for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I will admit to not following the recipe due to a lack of ingredients and other reviewers' suggestions. I used 1 cup warm milk instead of water, no powdered milk, 3 cups white flour, 4 Tbsp chopped sun dried tomatoes, 1/3 cup Parm/Asiago mix, the optional basil, 1/2 tsp garlic, and 1 1/4 tsp yeast. I used the light cycle. It was wonderful and I can only imagine it would be better with a different flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Love this bread! I took a combination of other reviewers suggestions and combined them. I did not use the powdered milk, it's not something I keep in the house or will use for anything else. Never heard of amaranth flour just used all flour, but the wheat germ does sound interesting, may try next time. I used 8 sundried tomatoes and plumped them in the 1 cup water and used that water for the bread (Other reviewers suggestion). I increased the yeast to 1 1/4 t (another suggestion) we like a fluffier bread. Added 1 crushed clove of garlic and doubled cheese for inside of bread (more suggestions). I subbed the oil from a jar of sundried tomatoes I had in the fridge (my idea). I don't have a bread machine so did it in the KA and baked at 350 and it took about 40 mins. I grated extra Asiago on top and it got pretty brown at 40 mins, may hold off on adding half way through baking next time. Served it with a Marsala type dinner and it was wonderful sopping up the gravy with. Absolutely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I don't have a bread machine, so I had to make it by hand. I didn't have powdered milk or amaranth flour, so I increased my all-purpose flour to almost 3 cups. I'm thinking this is too much, because the ingredients were difficult to mix (it was too dry). I added almost 1/2 C asiago cheese & although some suggested to add this much, I'd suggest to divide it in half - 1/2 while mixing the dry ingredients & the rest just before baking/on the top. Adding 1/2 C of asiago cheese before kneading made me lose a lot of the asiago cheese when I kneaded the dough on the floured surface. I also suggest adding other ingredients; Besides the asiago cheese & sundried tomatoes, I added fresh chopped basil, dried oregano, minced garlic- & it all gave a great aroma. The green dried herbs/fresh basil & red sundried tomatoes make it even appropriate for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I had no powdered milk on hand and at the store they had a giant size for $20. Wasn't sure that I would use it all, so I substituted 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup water for the 1 cup of water and 2 tbsp powdered milk. Unfortunately, I could not find amaranth flour, or even anything close with a nutty flavor (we live in a small area with specialty stores being a bit of a drive), so I had to substitute whole wheat flour. I doubled the cheese, but used a combination of Asiago and Parmesan (freshly shredded of course). I also doubled the chopped sun-dried tomatoes and added 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I chose to also add the optional basil as it is one of my favorite spices. This is good bread, but next time I really want to try it with the amaranth flour (or a close alternative, like quinoa) mainly because of the health benefits. I have also read that you can substitute nut flours for powdered milk. That sounds interesting as it would add more protein. This is why I love cooking and baking, the options are only limited to your imagination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This was quite delicious. I have a bread machine, but I decided to make it with my KA. The blend of flavors was perfect. I did use the wheat bran instead of the amaranth flour because it is what I had on hand. The inside was soft and the outside had a nice crust. I highly recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Now this was right up my alley! What a beautiful, delicious, artisan-type bread! I used only 1-1/2 tsp. of sugar because that's my preference (don't like any sweet taste in my bread), 1-1/2 tsp. of bread machine yeast and all bread flour. I used a very good quality fresh Asiago and 1-1/2 tsp. of my favorite Tuscan seasoning. I really don't like moist, overly fluffy, smooshy breads and this bread is SO not like that! This bread would make wonderful croutons, crostini, bruschetta, panini (mmmm, chicken, provolone and pesto!) or even grilled cheese, but it is so flavorful, so delicious on its own. Just a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States