Summery Lime-Mango Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Wow! What a fabulous dessert! I had my eye on this for a while and finallly got around to trying it and am so glad I did. The combination of fruit is awesome and not overly sweet. The shortcakes are light and fluffy - I cut the salt down to 1 tsp., added 1/2 cup of flaked coconut, 1/2 tsp. of lime juice and used butter instead of shortening. You definitely need a well floured surface to cut these out on as the dough is very soft. After I cut out the shortcakes I topped them with a bit of turbinado sugar and placed them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. I let them set for about 30 minutes in order to the the baking powder "react". They baked up beautifully! For the whipped cream I used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream with 2 Tbsp. of white sugar and 1/2 tsp. of coconut extract. Be sure your bowl and beater are well chilled and it'll whip up nicely. I can't remember when I've had a more unique or refreshing dessert. Thanks larkspur for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is my recipe, and I have a couple of tips to help anyone who wants to make this! The gelatin part of the coconut cream is optional; it is just intended to help stabilize the cream if it has to sit for a long period of time. If you decide to put the gelatin in, be careful that it doesn't cool down too much, as it will form small, hard lumps in the cream when you try to beat it in. I hope this helps! Thanks for looking at my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Another seriously good recipe. I made as written, but did not add the gelatin as I was whipping the cream up just at serving time. I did use the real buttermilk called for, as I believe it adds to the richness of the shortcakes. The dough was unbelieveably soft and pillowy. I just knew they were going to bake up nicely, and they did. We just loved the coconut cream, and the flavors in this recipe are a match made in heaven. The only thing I would change next time is reducing the salt in the shortcakes. It was also a very quick and simple dessert to put together. It looks involved at first glance, but it's not, at all. Wonderful! I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made this tonight! They were really good, ,I read larkspurs review and did not use the gelatin or water for the cream topping mixture. Instead I used the heavy whipping cream and confectioners sugar (powdered sugar), I also added about 1-2 tablespoon shredded coconut to it! Turned out great. I also didnt have buttermilk for the bread dough part, but a good substitute (I didnt want to run to the store) is fill almost 1 cup of milk add 1 tablespoon white vinegar or lemon juice and let set for 5 minutes and then use this as you would in the recipe. I also added 1 extra tablespoon honey. It worked out great!! Thanks for sharing this recipe Larkspur, hopefully I did not make to many changes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Delicious! All of the flavors mesh together so nicely. The shortcakes smell heavenly right out of the oven. I recommend making them slightly thicker than suggested. A great summertime treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I only gave it 4 stars because there is enough in the shortcake batter for 12 but the actual recipe will only serve 6. I served 6 and could have used still more fruit and whipping cream. I went to the store for strawberries and of course they were out so substituted kiwi. I didn't have the poppy seeds but I think that would add. Not sure of the purpose of the gelatin. Wouldn't bother with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
not exactly what I was looking for. My shortcake turned out a bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
A fun summer treat. The biscuit turned out great with nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malloryrh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This looks awesome! I am convinced you must be a very good cook, because your pictures of your baking and cooking, look very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These were very good! I had a mango that I needed to use and I've had my eye on these, so I went ahead and made them :) I did have to make one significant modification and that was that I did not have a lime (or a lemon even) so I had to do without. These were still great, but I could see how the lime would make them even better. Like others, I did not use the gelatin in the whipped cream and it turned out great. I really loved the coconut flavor in this. As for the shortcakes, I used butter instead of shortening and I did not have poppy seeds, but those were the only changes I made. They turned out fantastic. Loved this! I will definitely be making these again with the lime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States