Summertime Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
A bit strong for a salad. I'd use it more like a condiment for some grilled chicken or something, but alone as a side dish? Would you ever eat pico de gallo as a side dish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I'd give this recipe 2 stars if I were to rate it. however, using it as a guide where veg oil is replaced by XXVO and reduced to 1/8, sugar is omitted, WWV is replaced by Bals V, quartered capers added, garlic added, Then I'd give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I cut the oil in this recipe in half and it was still too much. I also used 3 tomatoes, 1/2 a sweet onion and some green onions, and red wine vinegar. I think it's a great starting place, but next time I will use half again of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
i used less sugar since im trying to cut back. this was excellent the day after but the leftovers i finely chopped and put in a ball jar and it was excellent over greens used like a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Simple tomato salad with a nice taste. I used fresh from the garden cherry and grape tomatoes. This was good and went nicely with 'Roasted Beer Butt Lime Chicken' and 'Hot Ponderosas!' both AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I would cut at least half the oil in this recipe, turns out to be way to much and I even added an extra cucumber to the mix. I would compare this to adding an entire bottle of oily dressing to a small salad..sorry did not work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I had a big, beautiful Tennessee farm market tomato I used to make roughly half this recipe. I didn’t think all the dressing was necessary so I made 1/4 of it, which was plenty. I sliced my tomatoes and used green onions. I try never to refrigerate tomatoes, as their flavor diminishes, so I made this early in the day and let it sit on the counter until dinner. This was good, but nothing exceptional. I was expecting more based on the rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Absolutely loved this tomato salad! What a great , simple summer side. I used 1/4 cup oil, and did double the mustard. This makes plenty of dressing, easily enough for six tomatoes. I used orange, yellow, and red tomatoes, so pretty. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Wow! This is YUMMY! I followed the recipe as it is written and also added some feta, just because I had some to use up. Hubby and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was FABULOUS! I used red onion(about 1/2 of a lg onion), white wine vinegar, & grape tomatoes cut in 1/2. I can't rave enough about this! It was a HUGE hit this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States