Summertime Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
For flavor I would give this a four, but it came together so quickly and with ingredients I had on-hand, so I'll bump it to a five. Plus, my husband ate three fillets - always a good sign! I used green onion since I had no shallots; 1 tsp dried oregano since I had no fresh; skipped the red wine vinegar; about four cloves garlic pressed; added some capers; a bit extra oil and lime juice and salt... I didn't have much time for marinating, so I poured it over the fillets in a 9x13 and let it sit for about 45 minutes and then threw in some green pepper, zucchini slices and a couple of shrooms (veggies sitting in the fridge); baked covered at 450* for 25 minutes and served over couscous. Filling but light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
My kids loved this! I grilled it over medium heat 3 minutes per side and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
i used this on a 10 oz mahi fillet.. i marinated for 4 hours.. threw 2 potatoes (sliced), 4 large mushrooms (sliced), a small handful of baby carrots, and a small head of broccoli (chopped) in a pyrex.. mixed the leftover marinade with 1/2 cup of chicken broth and poured over the veggies.. laid the fillet on top.. covered with foil and baked until the fish was done.. removed the fillet and continued cooking the veggies until tender.. bf and i both felt the fish needed more salt.. for the veggies, we added S&P to taste.. it was pretty good after all was said and done.. but i was expecting the fish to be more flavorful.. maybe if i would have had the fish on the bottom like Meghan did, it would have made a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
We all loved this dish. The marinade was wonderful! The next time I make it, I would like to top the fish with a mixture of parmesan and parsley before baking. I think it will look prettier, and the parm will give it just that extra little crispiness and salt that I was looking for. I served it with brown rice and asparagus. It was a big hit and soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was so easy and delicious! It was a little bit too sweet for me, so next time I'll just use 1 Tbs instead of 2. I still enjoyed it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Just finished making and eating this. I followed recipe except I didn't have fresh oregano, so I used dry instead, and only used 1 tbsp. Definitely recommend this recipe, it will be my go to recipe for tilapia from now on.This is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Borah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I've made this a ton of times because it's so good and easy. I omit the sugar and tequila but keep the rest as is. I've also just dumped the sauce on the fish and cooked immediately if I don't have time to marinate. Great with steamed veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Sweet and tangy. Great just as written, but now that I don't have a lot of spare time on my hands. I marinate the fish and then wrap them individually in foil and cook in the crock pot for 2 hours on low. They come out perfect every time and I don't have to do any dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Have to agree with most that as written it is a little bland. I think the fish needs to marinate a lot longer. I'll try it again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Very Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States