Summertime Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I did have to make a few changes, due to what I had on hand - like: No shallots - just used onion. Out of red wine vinegar, so just used 1 tbs white vinegar, and 1 tbs red wine. Added an extra splash of lime juice. I thought cilantro would make a better addition over oregano. Cut the tequila to 1 tbs. Even with the extra splash of lime, I was hoping for a more limey flavor. (Also, sprinkled a bit of cayenne over my portion.) Don't get me wrong, it was good - but could be made a lot better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Don't wait for summer for this one. No need to make any changes. The ingredients of the marinade combine to give a refreshing and unique flavor. I fixed this for my family, along with the Alfredo Potatoes, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Cut And Shoot, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This is a great, simple marinade, good for when your side dish is a little work and you need something nice but which you don't have to worry about. I used Captain instead of tequila, which I didn't have - I think any brown liquor would do. Also I used one small onion instead of the two shallots. I served it with fennel risotto and cooked arichokes and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
this was good...it just wasn't anything to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I rated this recipe three stars as written....I was not real impressed. The second time I made it (not realizing I already tried this one), I put the fish in a 9X13 baking dish and scooped the marinade over the fish. I allowed this to sit for approx. 1 1/2 hours until baking it. I put sliced zucchini over the top, added some additional sea salt and fresh ground pepper. Then covered with foil and baked at 450 for approx. 23 min. or until zucchini was crisp tender. This was awesome!!! The whole family devoured it, including my picky 2 year old who even scraped her plate for the first time ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was pretty good for us. I wanted to use my home-grown lemon-basil so I substituted that for oregano. I also had to use red wine bc I had no vinegar, and green onions bc I had no shallots. Was pretty good with the tilapia. I served with lemon wedges and parsley. I also made the same marinade for baby gold and red potatoes, carrots & home-grown green beans, also marinated and broiled. The marinade was very strong with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Really tasty!! My favorite tilapia recipe so far!! I didn't have all the ingredients on hand so made some modifications trying to keep with the spirit of the recipe (dried herbs instead of fresh, onion instead of shallot). I also value speed when preparing meals so instead of marinating, I just poured the marinade on top of the fillets, dumped some diced vegetables on top of them, and put them all in the oven together. A full, well-balanced, tasty dinner was on the table within 20 minutes of arriving home. Can't beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Excellant and fresh but too sweet. I would reduce sugar or cut out cmpletely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Driver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
THE BEST TILAPIA RECIPE EVER! I made one teeny tiny change: OMIT the sugar. Put everything into a food processor and blend. What an AWESOME flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this for my husband, and he never forgot it! He loves the taste of this marinade. The only changes I make to the recipe are using 2 teaspoons dried oregano (instead of 2 tablespoons fresh), using extra garlic, and omitting the tequila. I also do not throw out the extra marinade - rather I cover the fish with it in the baking pan while baking. I even serve the fish with the extra pieces of marinade on top. It looks nice and tastes wonderful. This also smells so delicious while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States